We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotton Row

Cotton Row
100 Southside Square, Huntsville, AL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cotton Row is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 493 restaurants in Huntsville
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Madison Street
California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

First time in Huntsville and was invited to eat at Cotton Row as part of a Pharmaceutical Dinner. This is a very unique restaurant in downtown Huntsville. I love the private room setup upstairs. The upstairs use to be 2 separate apartments that got converted to private dining rooms. Ours was the kitchen/living room area. Very cozy and could easily accommodate 24+ people.
Service: A+. Everyone was very professional and helpful. There were at least 3 dedicated servers to our room. Loved how the drinks were kept in the fridge in the kitchen. Very quick service.
Food: There was a set menu but had a lot of choices. I started with the seafood chowder. It was very flavorful and had lots of meat and seafood. My main entree was the short ribs with parmesan grits and arugula salad.. The short rib was tender and was fork tender. But what made the dish was the parmesan grits and arugula. The contrast of creamy with the bite of arugula was delicious. Desert was creme brulee. You can't go wrong with it.
Ambience: Loved the cozy feel of the kitchen/living room setup. Great view overlooking the downtown. I have never really been in a restaurant set up like this before.

All in all, I thought this was a wonderful place to host a private dinner. If you had a smaller group, there were smaller rooms to choose from. The food was also very good. But what made the dinner great was the great service.

Visited February 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    78
    25
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Al.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best dining experience in Huntsville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had dinner on our anniversary at Cotton Row recently and both of us agreed this was the best experience we have had in this state since we moved here over 25 years ago.
The service was fantastic from the complimentary valet parking to the wait staff and management.
Wonderful downtown location with a warm relaxing atmosphere.
We both had excellent seafood entres. I highly recommend the crispy Triggerfish if it's on the menu.
Awesome wine list and well stocked bar with many choices of high end Brands to choose from.
Dessert was complimentary for our anniversary, wonderful creme brûlée and fantastic dessert cheese with berries.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscumbia, Alabama
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent, top notch restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Small, cozy, excellent service and food. I had WILD Alaskan Salmon that was delicious, my wife had a New Zealand fish whose name I didn't catch, the waiter said it was similar to halibut. She loved it. The merlot by the glass also excellent.

Excellent service too, we will be returning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Service and Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Very comfortable Southern genteel atmosphere. The wine list was extensive and the prices reasonable. The menu offered something for all tastes and likes. I had the quail appetizer and the John Dory for my entree. The quail was very good but the fish was slightly overcooked. They were both beautifully plated and with wonderful accompaniments. Our waiter picked out a perfect Zinfandel which paired well with our dinner. I look forward to dinner here again or at one of the other sister establishments.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“WAY overpriced!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This restaurant is pretending to be a high-end New York style gourmet location. I saw nothing there that would compel me to return.

Visited March 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotton Row also viewed

 

Been to Cotton Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotton Row, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.