We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cotton Row

Cotton Row
100 Southside Square, Huntsville, AL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cotton Row is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 493 restaurants in Huntsville
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Madison Street
Alabama
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Service and Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Very comfortable Southern genteel atmosphere. The wine list was extensive and the prices reasonable. The menu offered something for all tastes and likes. I had the quail appetizer and the John Dory for my entree. The quail was very good but the fish was slightly overcooked. They were both beautifully plated and with wonderful accompaniments. Our waiter picked out a perfect Zinfandel which paired well with our dinner. I look forward to dinner here again or at one of the other sister establishments.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    78
    25
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kabul, Afghanistan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“WAY overpriced!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This restaurant is pretending to be a high-end New York style gourmet location. I saw nothing there that would compel me to return.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decatur,al
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cities Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Cotton Row takes it place at the top of Huntsville's offerings of fine dining. Though you will need to bring a thick wallet, tou will have excellent service and superb dining.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Great New Years Eve Dinner!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We went to Cotton Row for a drink and ended up staying for dinner and had one of the best dinners ever! The bartender had some really great drinks that he had made up special for New Years and they were incredible. I hope they will keep some of them on the Bar Menu. The Peppermint Mojito was really good and my wife loved her Cosmo.

For dinner, i started with the fried oysters, which were very good and I had the lamb shank which was outstanding. My wife had the tuna that was perfectly prepared and one of the best pieces of tuna we have had.

It was a great New Year's and great service!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Upscale for sure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I decided to try Cotton Row since we have really enjoyed the other James Boyce Restaurants in Huntsville. To be honest, this is a very nice restaurant with an upscale menu and great service. Our bill (before tip) came to $144.00. This was not a surprise, but like most upscale restaurants 75% of this bill is presentation. If you want to be pampered and enjoy upscale prepared food, this is the place to go. On the other hand, if you want a great meal with excellent service go to James Steak House or the Commerce Kitchen. Never been a bit disappointed in either and can easily save $50-$75 per couple by choosing them instead.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotton Row also viewed

 

Been to Cotton Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotton Row, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.