We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newk's Express Cafe

Newk's Express Cafe
4925 University Drive NW, Huntsville, AL 35816
256-430-9662
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 511 Restaurants in Huntsville
Price range: $5 - $15
Restaurant details
Georgetown, Texas
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

This was my first time to eat at Newk's. I ordered the toasted club sandwich with a side of 4 cheese Mac n cheese. It was really good. I loved every bite. I will look for Newk's in other cities that I travel to.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    24
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

I tried Newk's Express Cafe for the first time on my last business trip. I've seen it many times as I often stay at the Hampton Inn on University. I'm glad I finally tried it. Excellent variety from sandwiches to pizza. Quick service, great value and excellent staff. Order and they bring the food to your table or quick takeout. Highly recommended and perfect for the business traveler.

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Always Surprised How Good It Is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

We've been here a few times and are always surprised at how good this place really is. The Italian sub teamed up with the tomato soup (1/2 & 1/2) is excellent. Also recommend the chili. Love the way the have the "fixins" bar with breadsticks, peppers, crackers, croutons and even capers! Always clean and organized. The only thing to pick apart is the workers aren't very friendly. A big enough place to accommodate a big group.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Had the chicken salad sandwich and lobster bisque. Very good. Reasonably priced. It does get loud as the crowd grows during lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartselle, Alabama
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

Ate here yesterday while out Christmas shopping. It was ok. I didn't expect very much. It is just a sandwich shop. They did seem to have a good menu and the extra condiments such as pepper rings, bread sticks, hand cut croutons, etc were nice. It's going to run you around 8 bucks a person for a sandwich and chips. I could have done better but I could have also done worse. Newk's was just what it is......A sandwich shop.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newk's Express Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Newk's Express Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newk's Express Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.