We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Newk's Express Cafe

Newk's Express Cafe
4925 University Drive NW, Huntsville, AL 35816
256-430-9662
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 509 Restaurants in Huntsville
Price range: $5 - $15
Restaurant details
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015 NEW

Had the chicken salad sandwich and lobster bisque. Very good. Reasonably priced. It does get loud as the crowd grows during lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartselle, Alabama
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

Ate here yesterday while out Christmas shopping. It was ok. I didn't expect very much. It is just a sandwich shop. They did seem to have a good menu and the extra condiments such as pepper rings, bread sticks, hand cut croutons, etc were nice. It's going to run you around 8 bucks a person for a sandwich and chips. I could have done better but I could have also done worse. Newk's was just what it is......A sandwich shop.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not fire roasted Tomato :(”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

I used to eat at Newks in Mobile all of the time. Loved it. The sad part is that their soups change everyday. I hadn't eaten there in about a year and was looking forward to their fire roasted tomato soup. Sadly, it wasn't an option the day we ate there (Tuesday).

My husband had never eaten there before and he really enjoyed his mac and cheese and beef sandwich. Their pickles are great and their pizza was a good enough size to take the edge off of hunger, but not overstuff. Next time, I will get pizza and salad.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another favorite chain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I love the food here. Very fresh and tasty, can't go wrong. The atmosphere is a bit on the loud side, due to all the hard surfaces everywhere and nothing to absorb the sound. Food is great I love the salads and service is good too. Great place to go for a quick takeout as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridianville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My husband and I eat here about twice a month. I love the Ultimate salad. Their house made honey mustard is SO good. The hubs usually gets the club, newks q, or a pizza. You really can't go wrong. The tea is always delicious and fresh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newk's Express Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Newk's Express Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newk's Express Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.