We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast Service with healthy choices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newk's Express Cafe

Newk's Express Cafe
4925 University Drive NW, Huntsville, AL 35816
256-430-9662
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 493 Restaurants in Huntsville
Price range: $5 - $15
Restaurant details
decatur,al
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fast Service with healthy choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great salads, hot soups and delicious pizzas and sandwiches. But what really stands out to me is how fast their service is.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    18
    19
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Conveniently located in northwest Huntsville, Newk's specializes in sandwiches. Even though the restaurant was busy, the service was good and the food was great.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant,good food,fast service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have eaten here several times and always impressed with quality of food since it is " express" service. Many soups that have that gourmet yet home cooked flavor. The Splenda sweet tea is really tasty.

I had the "cup" (really a good sized bowl) of Tomato Basil soup and 1/2 grilled cheese sandwich which was generous size on the most scrumptious bread.

The price was $10.25 which included large glass of tea (I assumed it was unlimited,since it was self service beverage bar) and taxes.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very Good Selections”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Geat salads and sandwiches. I recommend either the Royale or the Grilled Cheese if wanting a sandwich. Soups that I like include tomato basille.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Excellent Toasted Club Sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My wife and I ate here on a Sunday evening, after church. It was not crowded. (She says it gets noisy in there when the place is busy.) We ordered a combo to share. She took the half Simply Salad, and I took the half Club Sandwich. The sandwich was served hot, and was better than I expected. Other than it being toasty hot, I think it was the Newk's original honey mustard that made it special. The light music was a brass jazz band. It was OK, and not loud. The order taker did not ask us "20 questions," as Subway seems to do. We selected our meal from a menu on the wall, and ordered at the counter. They brought our food to our booth in a couple of minutes. My wife says to for me to point out that kids can now eat free here on weekends.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newk's Express Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Newk's Express Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newk's Express Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.