We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Classic Mexican Food Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosie's Cantina

Rosie's Cantina
6125 University Ave, Huntsville, AL 35806
256-922-1001
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 511 Restaurants in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Madison, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Classic Mexican Food Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My friends and I decided to indulge in some Mexican food. I myself consider myself to be a Mexican food connoisseur. The place was loud, colorful, and large. This is an obvious family Mexican resteraunt. However! The food was not authentic. Of course it is a step up from Taco Bell and/or Qudoba or even Chipotle, but it still seemed like the ingredients were not "fresh". The price was a little more than what they should be charging, in my opinion, but if you've got delicious margaritas sign me up! The service was above par and if you visit this location I recommend Michael Vigo. He knows what he is talking about if you ask what is good. Overall, it was an average alright Mexican fiesta... a loud one.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    39
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This restaurant was recommended on Trip advisor and it was worth checking out. The food was great. We had fajitas and they were awesome. Very family friendly and the staff was fast and friendly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Inconsistant- roll the dice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We've been here twice, first time excellent second time only fair. Very attractive exterior and interior with lots of dedicated parking.Mostly tex-mex kind of fair.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“GREAT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Rosie's was a surprise. We walked there from our hotel and found it to be festive. Grandchildren thought it was a party. The food was excellent and the waiter was great. I wish there was a Rosie's near my home.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Always Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I am a regular at Rosie's (mostly South Parkway, but occasionally University Drive). The chips and salsa are addictively delicious. Luckily the ordered meals alway arrive quickly. The Tacos al carbon are always incredibly delicious as well as the Burrito Supremo. The consistency of food is incredible here, if you like it the first time you visit, you will always like it. The staff is always friendly and helpful. As long as Rosie's is around, I'll be a regular patron.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosie's Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Rosie's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosie's Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.