We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sucks donkey” 2 of 5 stars
Review of El Palacio

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Palacio
Memorial Parkway, Huntsville, AL
Improve this listing
Ranked #305 of 487 Restaurants in Huntsville
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Decatur, Alabama
1 review
“Sucks donkey”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This place is a joke. The tacos taste like they are straight out of a box. The were 1/4 full and said they didn't have enough menus for us. What the crap?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    3
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nasty!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Went for lunch with my husband and 2 children. Half of the kids menu has been marked out so they no longer serve the items. Most expensive Mexican restaurant I have ever been to!! Worst chips and salsa on the planet!!!! We paid for our drinks and left!!! Will NEVER go back ever again!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Been eating there for years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I have been eating at El Palacio since I was a little girl. The building and decor has not changed since in the last 30 years. I have eaten the lunch buffet and ordered from the menu. The beans are incrediable unlike anyone else's. I usually get the chili relleno, my all-time favorite. The food is a notch above the other Mexican restaurants. I highly recommend it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullman, Alabama
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nasty can food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

First i want to say the young lady that waited on us was awesome. Not her fault food was unedible. Five of us went during lunch. The adults have ate there in the past and good food. One adult and two children got sick after eating there. Stomach cramps and diarrhea. Food greasy. Cheese dip weird. Beans looked like alpo dog food with water oozing from them. We will never eat there again! Poor quality of food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Mexican Food Hands Down!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The food is unlike any other Mexican place I have tried in every place I've been! They are one of a kind!! I recommend this as a must try if you are visiting or live in the area!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Palacio also viewed

 

Been to El Palacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Palacio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.