We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visited my son” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U.S. Space and Rocket Center

U.S. Space and Rocket Center
1 Tranquility Base, Huntsville, AL 35805
800-637-7223
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 74 things to do in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Home to Space Camp, Aviation Challenge and NASA's Official Visitor Information Center for Marshall Space Flight Center; The U.S. Space & Rocket Center is recognized as one of the most comprehensive U.S. manned space flight hardware museums in the world.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“visited my son”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

gained knowledge about space and how the space process needed to be perfect to achieve a successful flight and return

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    278
    101
    28
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“History review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Other than the obligatory field trips and putting up with some students that didn't follow directions (we had nothing to do with them!), this was a great experience. You need at least 4 hours to do the place justice, and could spend all day, depending on if you read everything at each display. Get 20% off coupon at the Visitors Center on Church Street NW. Only negative was the price of the food at IMAX (didn't check out the cafeteria)....$6 for a large popcorn, $5 for large drink. WOW!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southaven, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great attaction!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Learned a lot while there, the importance of von Braun to our rocket development and the role Huntsville played in that. The keep saying it takes a half-day to see it and that is certainly true.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Needs to be your first stop when visiting HSV”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The new building containing the Saturn-V exhibit is outstanding. They really did a great job of putting this together. There's a lot of really need things put away in every corner. Almost like a scavenger hunt. Don't miss the SR-71 Blackbird out side left side of the parking log. Just wonderful.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluff Park, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun, but not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I really like it, but for our family of five, the tickets were almost $100 and some of the outdoor attractions were closed. Granted we went the day after Christmas and it was snowing, I just didn't think that it was worth they money, maybe half of that would be okay. Other than that, we loved it. It was very informative about the US space program and the contributions that the Germans made to it after WWII. The traveling exhibit was so much fun, and that is where we spent most of our time.

I wish we could have spent more time there to make it worth our while. Glad we went though.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed U.S. Space and Rocket Center also viewed

 

Been to U.S. Space and Rocket Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U.S. Space and Rocket Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.