We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to enjoy an unhurried meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Plate Cafe

Blue Plate Cafe
3210 Governors Dr., Huntsville, AL 35805
256-533-8808
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 501 Restaurants in Huntsville
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Manassas, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A place to enjoy an unhurried meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Downtown Huntsville has only a few good places for breakfast or lunch. Most restaurant are the big chains, but I was totally please with the Blue Plate Café. The service is quick and caring. The food is good and wholesome, while the prices are in line with normal expectations. But the sweet tea is what really made this pleasurable dining. The tea a southern staple not too sweet but sweet enough to be cool and relaxing on a hot muggy day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    43
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meridianville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We eat here a good bit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We're locals and have been eating here for years. All the food is true southern food and it's delicious. My favorites are chicken & dressing, dumplings, hash brown casserole, squash (only on certain days), strawberry shortcake (Monday only). Those are my favs but I've never had a bad meal here. Breakfast is great too. This is where the locals eat for those out-of-town folks reading this. You will feel like you've won the lottery if you get a parking spot between 11:30 and 1:30 Monday through Friday, so get here early. I've never had to wait over 30 min for a table. Service is always excellent.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We ate here this morning for breakfast. The food was great and cooked to our liking. Eggs, omelets, gravy, bacon...it was all very good. I want to go back and try their pancakes and french toast, too. The waitress was very sweet and did a wonderful job.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I recently visited the Blue Plate Cafe for breakfast and it was a great experience. The food was good Southern cooking, the sweet tea was great, and the employees were very friendly and attentive. The prices are good and your drinks are never empty. Definitely recommend!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“yummy southern food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was a great place to enjoy some down-home southern food during my visit to Huntsville. Prices were reasonable. The fruit plate was amazing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Plate Cafe also viewed

 
 

Been to Blue Plate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Plate Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.