We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular but Slightly Lacking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Plate Cafe

Blue Plate Cafe
3210 Governors Dr., Huntsville, AL 35805
256-533-8808
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 502 Restaurants in Huntsville
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Athens, Alabama
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Popular but Slightly Lacking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Everyone seems to love the place. Meat & 3 is good food but compared to many meat & 3 outside Huntsville it's just not excellent. Corn is warmed from can. Pintos don't taste homemade. Hash browns were good. Peach Cobbler was very doughy and not even edible. Catfish was good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    43
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mitchell, IN, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just dropped in ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Restaurant was busy for sat afternoon but had great service. Food was excellent and reasonably priced. Wife has chicken and dressing and I had country fried steak which was great. Clean and comfrey for older restaurant the kind I like to fine when traveling.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always dependable....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

and always a good lunch choice. It is not closeby to me but I have been happy every time I have eaten there. It is always busy, but the service is good. And it is clean and the food is wholesome
and tasty.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great southern style breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Went here with a group of friends for breakfast and it was packed. They worked us in pretty quick and the food was delicious, southern style. Definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fooled by great rating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

I read all the other reviews and was fooled. On my daughter's grilled chicken salad, the chicken was rancid. The reviews and the diner's philosophy on the back of the menu was focused on fresh food, NOTHING on my plate was homemade, the chicken was from frozen, corn and green beans were from can, yeast roll was from frozen as well. My husband's roast beef was below average in quality and seasoning. Pass on this restaurant it is not a bargain.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Plate Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Plate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Plate Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.