We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Pay For” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Plate Cafe

Blue Plate Cafe
3210 Governors Dr., Huntsville, AL 35805
256-533-8808
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 502 Restaurants in Huntsville
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Fulltime RV
Top Contributor
438 reviews 438 reviews
345 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
“You Get What You Pay For”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Should have guessed when the specials of the day are less than $8 with 3 sides. My chicken fried steak was good, but wife's chicken and dumplings was all gravy and dumplings. Sides were overcooked and virtually tasteless. Never again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    43
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weatherford, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Place for Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

As out-of-towners, we asked the folks at AutoZone where the locals would go for breakfast, and they sent us down the street to the Blue Plate Cafe. Parking lot was almost full - usually a good sign. This turned out to be a good place for breakfast. Good home-style cooking, with a friendly wait staff. The pancakes with fruit were very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this place... especially their hash brown casserole!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I've been to eat at this restaurant numerous times... and my company has them cater our Executive Management breakfasts regularly. Everyone I know raves about the hash brown casserole... and everything else I've ever had just reminds me of my grandma's country cooking. And I can't say enough about how friendly and courteous they are whenever I've gone in for lunch... but get their early... there is a mad rush from 11:00AM-12:45PM!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Downhome cooking with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

The Blue Plate Cafe was my last stop before arriving at Huntsville Airport, it was a good choice as the experience was positive. The restaurant was almost full for lunch but the short wait was worth the delay as the food was wholesome and tasty. The hash brown casserole was a stand-out and should be tried by everyone visiting this eatery. Good vale and a great welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Southern Home Cookin'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stopped by The Blue Plate on my way to the Huntsville Airport. It was a great place to go for lunch! They have daily specials- for about $8 you get a ton of food! I got the Southern Fried Catfish, corn, hashbrown casserole and green beans AND a roll. It was a great taste of the south and I would reccomend it to anyone passing through. Do not stop if you are on a diet... the fried food is too hard to resist!!

:)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Plate Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Plate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Plate Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.