We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who knew...???” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Plate Cafe

Blue Plate Cafe
3210 Governors Dr., Huntsville, AL 35805
256-533-8808
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 502 Restaurants in Huntsville
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Who knew...???”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

After living in Huntsville for seven years, today was the first time that we have eaten at the Blue Plate Cafe and it certainly will not be the last. This establishment is top shelf. It is super clean, the staff is friendly and extremely attentive and the food is without par. My wife and I had two huge omelets, coffee, toast and fresh made biscuits for under $20.00. Both omelets were fluffy; loaded with ingredients and most importantly almost totally grease free. These omelets were so big that we had to bring half of them home! We will be back and so should you. Travel safe.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    43
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meridianville, Alabama
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

You can get everything you want for breakfast right here. This is the best country breakfast place in Huntsville.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Best Home Cooking, <2:00 pm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Valley Planet survey voted Blue Plate Cafe as #1 "Best Home Cooking," and as 2nd "Best Breakfast." Urbanspoon shows it as Huntsville's 3rd most popular $ "Cheap eats," and says 87% like it. Hours are Mon - Sat / 6am - 2pm. We arrived about 12:30 on a Monday. I let my three friends out at the door, and circled the full parking lot a couple of times until aother car backed out. I then took its space, grateful to have found a parking place that quickly. My friends had been seated in a booth when I walked in. Our cute waitress was efficient and friendly. This is an old-fashioned "meat & three" diner, serving Southern-style comfort food. My wife says be advised that the meals are heavy. E.g., a large serving of fried chicken or meat loaf, etc. My wife and I split a meal here, and we both leave stuffed. They do let you count "dessert of the day" as a one of the 3 vegetables!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Traditional Southern Diner--Outstanding and Crowded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Come early or wait. Very popular with locals and visitors to Huntsville. Excellent basic American food at a reasonable price. A classic diner with a loyal following. None better in Huntsville.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I just love the southern cooking fare! You know it will be great every time!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Plate Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Plate Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Plate Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.