We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Boulevard South SW, Huntsville, AL 35802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points!
Ranked #15 of 54 hotels in Huntsville
Hendersonville, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stay here a lot and enjoy it. This time we requested a late (2PM) checkout, and was told noon was the latest time for late checkout. We are usually able to have a late 2PM checkout, but not this time. No explanation, just coldly said 12 noon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your experience with us, it is through such candid feedback that we’re able to improve our product and services. While the lack of service you experienced is unusual and not the standard of our hotel, there is no excuse for a cold attitude on the part of any of our employees. We are sorry for the inconvenience and annoyance this incident caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    23
    6
    7
    2
See reviews for
23
7
5
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kemah, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here on business a number of times while working on a long Huntsville project. It is off the main highways which I think is a good thing as you don't hear trucks all night like other hotels in this town. It is very quiet but within minutes of downtown. The staff always remembered me and was very helpful. Special requests were always met with a smile and an attitude of 'what else can I do for you?' Hotel is still pretty new and extremely clean which I would not claim for many of the older ones on the highway. Breakfast is hot with omlettes made to order. I usually eat dinner out, but a couple times I ate at the hotel and it was simple but good.

Room Tip: I always ask for an upgrade if available. Many times I am surprised that they have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
 Our associates here at the Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South pride themselves on providing excellent guest service and will be pleased to hear they exceeded your expectations! Your review will certainly be shared with them. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Single overnight on business. My GPS didn't have it in its database, so I wound up at the other Hilton Garden Inn. Not a deal killer though. I'm finding that since I've earned diamond status, no one really cares anymore. When i was silver and gold, I was always welcomed and thanked. Since achieving diamond, it's pretty much just been ignored. This has been at all Hilton properties though; not just this location. Check in was quick, however the room was teh farthest away onthe second floor. Hotel wasn't full, and I never heard another noise the entire night. bed was comfy, and the room clean. The bathroom vanity sported some towel art, which I thought looked too nice to move. Nice touch. Breakfast was good; although not many options for those of us that cannot consume gluten. Yogurt selection was extremely slim. Overall, not bad though.

Only complaint was the shower doors that would not stay on the track. After several attempts of re-setting themin the track, I resorted to jsut lifting them and setting into place! I mentioned it to the front desk as I was leaving, and the clerk didn't really know how to respond! Hopefully it got fixed before the next guest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We at the Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South are pleased to hear you enjoyed the Towel art and how quiet your room was during your stay with us. Please return often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed here on business. The hotel staff was a little cold, but not impolite. The room was excellent. Very comfortable beds and very nice room in general. The WiFi was also extremely reliable and free to use. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
 We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the WiFi during your stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South. Please return often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, South Carolina
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great Hotel. This hotel is newer and very pretty. The pool is very small. The workout room is very nice. The Breakfast is very tasty and made to order. you should try it out. The address did not show up on my gps that is a couple of years old.

Room Tip: I had accessible room and it was huge. The tub was hard to maneuver with only one bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review for our hotel the Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South. It is nice to hear you liked the breakfast. look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The HGI Huntsville-Redstone Arsenal makes for a good stay for business travel.

The cons: the windows in the room don't open -- standard design in many of the newer HGIs. Some of the in-room furniture could probably use replacement from wear and tare.

The pros: all the expected amenities that make HGI a cut above the rest for business travelers. Lots of electrical outlets in the room, easily accessible. No digging behind furniture or searching for more than two plugs. Microwave and mini-fridge. Excellent satellite TV selections. Clean rooms. Great breakfast bar with custom-made orders as well as the standard fare, including fresh fruit. Nicely designed lobby with a surprisingly pleasant water treatment. Ample parking, convenient to Redstone Arsenal and NASA.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We are glad to see your review of our hotel the Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South and your comment "makes for a good stay for business travel." We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Thank You for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IN
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Hotel is clean, very typical Garden Inn, which I usually enjoy. A few small things forced to downgrade:

They just could not get the TV working properly. I don't even watch much TV, but it's annoying to call down everytime it wouldn't turn on. 4 different times when I tried to turn it on, I would get static, nothing, or PBS. A service call would get it running again, but not for very long. Sometimes not even a single off/on cycle.

The closet was missing one of its 2 sliding doors. It was just odd.

Everything else was great. not sure why they couldn't get the little stuff right, though. Parking and www were free. Room wired access was pretty good...not super fast, but not tiringly slow, either. Shower was good.

I do like the Garden Inn 'select a firmness' mattresses.

Housekeeping and front desk were super nice. Appreciate all thier help.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveler1Tampa, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay. While I’m thrilled to hear our staff was friendly and helpful, I regret that the hotel did not meet your expectations. We are in the process of evaluating opportunities for improvement and appreciate your input!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South

Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South Hotel Huntsville
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South Hotel
Address: 301 Boulevard South SW, Huntsville, AL 35802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Huntsville
#15 Business Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville South to your Saves list