We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic valentine get away place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Huntsville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Huntsville to your Saves list
The Westin Huntsville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6800 Governors West NW, Huntsville, AL 35806   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“A romantic valentine get away place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We took advantage of the special Valentine's day package, as well as ,the valentines dinner from the Sage restaurant. Although they were very busy the food was delightful and the setting was romantic. He has a king suite with a goos view and a wonderful breakfast included the next morning. Another great stay with great service. The only dissapointment is that we were told that although Platinum members could not have the late checkout ( via front desk call) as we had been promised at check in.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosia S, Manager at The Westin Huntsville, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing us for the Valentine’s Day celebration. It is wonderful to hear that you are our regular guest and that we continue to impress you and exceed your expectations. Compliments to our culinary team for coming up every year with a wonderful V-Day dinner menu! We apologize that the late check-out was not available due to busy V-Day weekend as we were at full capacity. We will be happy to offer late any other time to our valued SPG Platinum members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    88
    32
    14
    12
See reviews for
53
75
21
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dracut, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I was in Huntsville on business during a rough weather time for Alabama. My stay was scheduled for one night but due to 7 flight cancellations I had to stay 3 nights. The staff at the hotel from the front desk to the restaurant and bar servers went above and beyond to make my stay comfortable. The room was large, clean and quiet, with a great HD television. It made a difficult time much easier. If you are staying in Huntsville the Westin is the place.

Room Tip: 347 had a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosia S, Manager at The Westin Huntsville, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We would like to thank you writing a review from your stay that occurred during an inclement weather in Northern Alabama. It is nice to know that our efforts made a difference during your stay. Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments with other travelers. Many thanks for 5 star rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, AL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

My husand, dog, and I enjoyed a great night at the Westin Huntsville. Our room was large, clean, and well-appointed with everything we needed. The heavenly bed and pillows provided a great night's sleep and our dog's heavenly bed was soft as a cloud. The small bar was great for a quick drink and a nightcap later. The breakfast buffet was very good with fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, an omelet station, French toast, cereal, bisuits, muffins, bacon, sausage, etc. We self-parked in the huge open parking lot and that worked fine. The staff responded quickly to all requests and were exceptional. The outdoor mall is situated in the same complex as the hotel with some nice stores. The location on Bridge Street was ideal for getting to places in Huntsville.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and our room was fine. Our room key had to be inserted in the elevator slo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosia S, Manager at The Westin Huntsville, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We would like to thank you for your “Great Stay” review. It is wonderful to know that your family, including your dog had a relaxing and memorable stay. We will share your comments with our staff members so they can feel proud how their hard work had translated to another wonderful stay. We are looking forward to your next visit. Greetings from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Given the size of Huntsville as a city, The Westin is the premier hotel. The Westin is a great relatively new 4 star property. I rated it 5 stars because the staff is exceptional. Staff is very friendly and eager to assist you with your needs. They all are respectful and even call you by name. Rooms are clean and modern. Overall, I found property clean and tidy, especially in the common areas. Food is really good in terms of taste and preparation. But if you are looking for a "foodie" lovers experience, then you will have to travel downtown.

Location is a key factor. The hotel is nicely situated in an outdoor upscale multiplex lifestyle outdoor mall with some decent shops and restaurants. Parking can be a bit hairy as the Westin shares the lot with the movie theater and other stores.

The Westin caters to mostly business travelers as well as vacationing families. Outdoor pool is nice and clean.

We stayed here for 3 weeks August 2012 and had an overnight stay recently. I am pleased to see The Westin is still friendly and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosia S, Manager at The Westin Huntsville, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Many thanks for your kind review and 5 starts. We are pleased to hear that you had a superb stay with us. Thank you for complimenting our dedicated staff members who strive to go above and beyond our guests’ needs. The location is indeed excellent with a movie theater next door, shops and restaurants. Thank you again for your kind words towards us. We are pleased to have another fan of our Westin Huntsville family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a hotel that my wife and I have visited several times when we want to get away from the kids for the evening and be romantic but not leave town. The staff is always friendly, the location is great because of Bridge Street and it feels comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosia S, Manager at The Westin Huntsville, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Westin Huntsville to relax and get away for a moment from everyday duties. It is great to know that you found our hotel to take a moment just for yourselves and relax. We all need some quick relaxation from time to time, so I am pleased that our hotel suits you and your needs in that regard. Happy V-Day from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

A fairly nice property but rooms were small. Parking is in a huge open parking lot at which you have to compete for nearby parking spots with theater goers. Of course you could always pay $18 per day for valet parking (good luck with that, we never saw a valet, so I suppose you'd walk into the lobby to the desk and ask for someone to park your car??). Had breakfast buffet at the restaurant.....it was okay. NO maid service on first day of stay...we returned to the property at about 9 PM to find our room just as we had left it at 10 AM. I called the desk and was offered to have someone clean our room at this time of night, I declined and asked for fresh towels which were promptly delivered by a housekeeper, who incidentally was the only person who apologized for the oversight even though she was the night housekeeper (that's right, the desk didn't apologize, just asked if we were on the mega green program? or if we had left something on our door....NOT!! Bottom line...nice property, not great, but nice, average restaurant at best, sub-standard service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed here during the Thanksgiving weekend. We had three rooms to accommodate my husband and me and our grown sons and their wives. I have stayed at the Westin previously and was very happy with everything but we had some problems this time. Two of the three rooms were infested with lady bugs. The third room was so dusty there was a film on all the furniture. One of my sons and his wife were turned away for breakfast on Thanksgiving in the dining room. They were told to go to the Thanksgiving brunch, when all they really wanted was coffee and toast or something small. It was at least 1/2 hour before they were supposed to stay open. One morning I ordered a large pot of coffee from room service, they specifically asked me how many cups I wanted and I asked for two. They delivered a small pot and 1 cup so whatever, we used the paper cup that was in the the room. Upon checkout I noticed that they charged 13 dollars for the coffee and brought up the issue to the young woman at the desk. Well they called the manager to discuss my issue , he apologized for the ladybugs, the dust and the coffee and seemed to think he was making a concession by taking off the 13 charge for one cup of coffee. I do like the location and the beds but I think this hotel needs a lot of work on service. I think the part that bothers me the most is if you have a guest who is spending thousands of dollars to stay in your hotel, maybe you shouldn't question them so much when they complain about an incorrect room service charge. The rooms are also kind of noisy. The man across the hall was apparently renting porn because we could here it on and off for the last two days. Ugh!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Huntsville

Address: 6800 Governors West NW, Huntsville, AL 35806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Huntsville
#13 Family Hotel in Huntsville
#15 Business Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Huntsville 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Huntsville blends sophistication, elegance, and classic southern hospitality with the unique surroundings of Bridge Street Town Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Huntsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Huntsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.