We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Huntsville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Huntsville to your Saves list
The Westin Huntsville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6800 Governors West NW, Huntsville, AL 35806   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint Francisville, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Well at least the rooms were large and clean and the location was good for our needs. Other than a nice bar in the lobby, I couldn't tell the difference between this hotel and a Holiday Inn Express. There was no valet and there was no bell service, and check in was strange. The clerk was pleasant, but disinterested. Someone who may have looked like a bellman came forward after we checked in and were almost to the elevator with our bags to ask if we needed some help. None of this is what I have experienced with Westins in other cities. Fortunately we only have one night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntsville7, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Huntsville, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that previous Westin Hotels have provided. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. Thank you for your comments regarding the service issues you encountered which we will address immediately. Please feel free to contact me at 256-428-200 so I can investigate further and prevent a recurrence in the future.

Sincerely

Danny Hiatt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    88
    33
    14
    12
See reviews for
53
76
21
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night, hoping to get some sleep while our gracious parents kept our toddler and infant. The first room they put me in was next to the HVAC units and the second was in the middle of three rooms of screaming children. I was worried about being a demanding and annoying customer, but the ladies at the front desk (especially the manager) were nothing but friendly and accomodating. The third room was perfect and I got two follow up calls from the desk to make sure we were okay. We ordered in room breakfast and everything was great. The shower, robe, bed, and climate control were all top notch and the room was clean and well appointed. I don't think you can ask much more than that and you can be assured that the staff cares about your happiness. I'm already planning my next visit!

Room Tip: Higher floors are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntsville7, General Manager at The Westin Huntsville, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to the Westin Huntsville. We greatly appreciate you taking this opportunity to share your experience with us. We certainly apologize for you having to relocate rooms, but it is very comforting to know that it was handled very well by our Front Office team, and that you felt the room was comfortable and very clean. Our staff certainly does care about each and every guest’s happiness and we all look forward to your return here at the Westin Huntsville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Third stay at Westin since it opened. Absolutely no complaints. Great location and staff. Comfortable bed and best omelets at the Sage Grill. Still haven't taken advantage of the full amenities of the property

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from loud twentysomethings in the next room. Fortunately the nice AC in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntsville7, General Manager at The Westin Huntsville, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
. Thank you so much for taking the opportunity to comment on your recent stay here at the Westin in Huntsville. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit here and had a great weekend stay here at the Westin. The staff will be happy to know that you found them friendly, and that you enjoyed your breakfast experience in Sage Grille. We all look forward to when your travels bring you back to the area and the Westin Huntsville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Westin Huntsville was built in the perfect setting. Bridgstreet is an awesome location with tons of great shopping and entertainment. This would have been an awesome experience if there night management staff were better trained and more professional. We had to move rooms at 3oclock in the morning after 5 noise complaints. . After asking what there specific policy was on noise I was told that if a guest complained they had to address it no questions asked. .I asked the night manager specifically if my CPAP machine was to loud would I have to turn it off and I was told yes!! Basically the vent in our room connected to the room upstairs and me and my wife were disturbing there rest on a Friday night. I would have b understood if we were being extremely loud and arguing, or playing music extremely loud, but this wasn't the caseat all.. Because the rooms were poorly designed we are harassed throughout the night... As an active duty service member I have received better hospitality in Uzbekistan! And that says a lot.. So if you plan to whisper and be sleep before 9pm you will be good to go and I would recommend this establishment to you. . As for me and my family, never again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed 1 night at this very nice property. Very convenient to the Bridgestreet shopping area and with lots of dining choices makes this property a great choice for a fun weekend. As usual the Westin rooms and bedding were top notch and we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntsville7, General Manager at The Westin Huntsville, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
I wanted to take this opportunity to say how much we appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us here at the Westin in Huntsville. We are glad to hear that you had a fun weekend and found our rooms in great shape. We look forward to your next visit when your travels bring you back to the Huntsville and the Westin Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Location is by far the biggest perk. I was there for business so it was a short drive to my meetings. But, when at the hotel, right outside the door is an open shopping area with cobblestone pavers which is lovely to walk around in when the weather is nice. A really pretty movie theatre right next door. Some decent stores for shopping and several restaurants. There was a little construction going on but it did not impact my stay at all. They are creating waterways, a little lake area and a few bridges. Very pretty. Ice cream place, chocolate shop, clothing stores, etc.
At the hotel, all the staff I encountered were professional and helpful. I had lunch at the restaurant, they brought me the wrong entree but it was not a huge deal. Used the pool area, it was simple but I welcomed the sun and quiet moments I could find after the New England winter. Indoor pool area and outdoor pool area. Towels provided. Our rooms were not ready where we arrived because we were early but they let us into the pool area to change and relax which was excellent. The hotel receptionist even brought our room keys out to us at the pool when the rooms were ready. Very sweet. Rooms were nice, soft wonderful beds. I would definitely stay there again. Plenty of parking right outside the front door for rental car as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntsville7, General Manager at The Westin Huntsville, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you very taking the opportunity to comment on your most recent stay here at the Westin in Huntsville. We were delighted that you found the location convenient and that you enjoyed all the shopping that Bridge Street had to offer. I am glad to see that our staff went the extra mile and that the Heavenly bed was enjoyable.

We all look forward to hosting your next stay here at the Westin when your travels bring you back to the Huntsville area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, CA
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Nice hotel located nextto a nice outdoor mall with tons of places to browse and eat. Nice respite after a day of work. Food was OK - and staff were pleasant - would stay stay here again when in Huntsville.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntsville7, General Manager at The Westin Huntsville, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
I wanted to thank you for taking the opportunity to comment on your recent stay here at the Westin in Huntsville. I was pleased to see that our associate encounters were pleasant, and that you found the hotel very clean. Again, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to when your travels bring you back to Huntsville and the Westin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Huntsville

Address: 6800 Governors West NW, Huntsville, AL 35806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Huntsville
#13 Family Hotel in Huntsville
#15 Business Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Huntsville 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Huntsville blends sophistication, elegance, and classic southern hospitality with the unique surroundings of Bridge Street Town Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your The Westin Huntsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Huntsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.