We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you value the Internet, do not stay here.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Huntsville

Save Saved
You added The Westin Huntsville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Huntsville
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6800 Governors West NW, Huntsville, AL 35806   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 53 hotels in Huntsville
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you value the Internet, do not stay here.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

What a great location! What a beautiful building! Friendly staff! Decent rooms, although the grout in the shower and floor was dirty and there was an old bar of soap left. (and no I'm not going to call housekeeping to try to let them make it right. I shouldn't have to ask.)

The major problem is the Internet! First, the price is ridiculous. Be nice to them and you might get it comped though. Second, and most important, is that THE CONNECTION IS TERRIBLE! It dropped me every couple minutes nonstop! You can't watch NetFlix, you can't FaceTime, you can't download anything, you can't enjoy anything, and you can't get any work done either! It's maddening! I cannot imagine paying for this service! DO NOT DO IT.

If I return to Huntsville, I'm sorry to say that I can't come back to the Westin. It's a real shame because I like it here, but I require a decent Internet connection. You'd think with all the business travelers in this area they'd wise up.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    74
    26
    10
    11
See reviews for
48
62
20
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I had called and booked a room for my son and his new wife. I specified that I wanted the top floor and was told I got top floor. Wrong!! They first took my credit card information and booked the room and said I had top floor and that it wouldn't be a problem with my son checking in (his name was on file as the one checking in) Wrong!! My son calls me at midnight saying their room wasn't confirmed.. I was pissed! Not only that.... It wasn't 6th floor. Bad business!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Alabama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We purchased the shopping package as offered on the Westin's website and enjoyed every minute of it! The hotel and its staff we're lovely; the gift certificate and movie passes were great for entertainment. The breakfast buffet had a superb selection and the Bridgestreet shops and restaurants are top-notch. Overall...a very nice overnight getaway!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

The Westin is great. It exits right into a beautiful new outdoor shopping mall with great stores and restaurants. The luxuriousness of the hotel makes it a bargain at any price under $175/night. I got it on a slow week (July 4) for $160/nt.
The bartender, Kim, is excellent- kind, attentive, and helpful. It really is all you could ask for from a hotel- worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHuntsville, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Huntsville, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your very nice review. We're happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and have passed along your wonderful compliments to Kim. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The location and caliber of the hotel is wonderful. Impressive really...great place for the impromptu girls weekend or couples trip/get away. Rooms are large and well laid out - they are elegantly put together including wine glasses in the room and Starbucks coffee. The bathroom products are great. I would say that the attention to cleanliness of the property has fallen WAY below my expectations for such a potentially amazing place.

In comparison for other average hotels - yes the place is recommended and I will go again.

However - the outside pool area needs tending!! fix it up = the floor - spray off dark spots and fix that area! The out door bar should be running on the weekends in the summer at least - the luggage attendants were NOT helpful when I was there - more of an advertising emphasis on relaxing spa treatments/ packages than plastic surgery spa treatments.
Friendly staff at main greeting locations ( front desk front door front bar) is Mandatory.

KUDOS TO YOU for the following: indoor/ outdoor pool is good - the bathrooms by the exercise room/ pool are great-clean and stocked with needed things, the food in the restaurant is IMPRESSIVE! excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHuntsville, Guest Relations Manager at The Westin Huntsville, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We apologize that your stay was not perfect. The pool is tended to daily and maintenance and improvements to the area are a priority for us - we recently repainted the area this fall. The pool bar is open from spring until late fall on Thursdays - Sundays but our staff is more than happy to assist any guest needing food or refreshments year round. We're glad to read that you enjoyed our restaurant..our Executive Chef was just awards Chef of The Year in Alabama. We do hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

stayed here for four days. the hotel is in an upscale mall with a number of shops and restaurants nearby. the price was very reasonable.

liked the green policy - $5 coupon for drinks for each day that one does not need room cleaning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHuntsville, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Huntsville, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review and we're very glad to read that you took advantage of our Green effort and enjoyed the perks!!! We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed here for one night for a job interview nearby so the room was paid for by the company. It's a pretty big conference hotel in the middle of a shopping center. There were a lot of people in the lobby area at all times. In the evening, they sat by the elevators and were being especially loud probably due to too many drinks. The room was nice and the shower was pretty cool (double shower head) but I could hear everytime a door slammed which was often. I visited the pool, which was AMAZING. It's saltwater indoor/outdoor connected pool and heated!! Very nice and relaxing. My biggest complaint were the hidden costs. I assumed (wrongly) that they would provide a continental breakfast since it was more of an upscale hotel. After I had finished my food from the buffet (it was not served and there was no menu) I received a check from the "server". I was dumbfounded. There was no sign anywhere saying that the breakfast wasn't free! On top of that, it was $15 a person! Pretty steep for breakfast. Make sure you ask questions before you try something at this place.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and they put me at the end of the hall with a view of the AC units on top o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinHuntsville, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Huntsville, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're so sorry to read that your stay was less than perfect but glad you were able to enjoy our heated pool during your stay. The room rate which was booked for your stay would have noted if it included breakfast - we apologize that it was not booked as such. We do hope that your job interview went well and that you will consider staying with us on your next visit to Huntsville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Huntsville

Address: 6800 Governors West NW, Huntsville, AL 35806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Huntsville
#12 Business Hotel in Huntsville
#13 Family Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Huntsville 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Huntsville blends sophistication, elegance, and classic southern hospitality with the unique surroundings of Bridge Street Town Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Starwood, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Westin Huntsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Huntsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.