We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Shopping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2980 John Hawkins Pkwy, Hoover, AL 35244   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Join Hyatt Gold Passport®
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Hoover
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Close to Shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The room was clean and much larger than expected with a sofa, ottoman, desk and mini fridge. The flat screen television was ~40 inch, much larger than those in most hotels. Staff was pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was both pleasantly surprising and a disappointment. The fresh grapefruit segments, fruit and yougrt were great. However there was not much beyond the cold cereals and bagels. I would have liked to see muffins or danish pastries.

I was there for business and the corporate rate was quite reasonable. You could not hear the road traffic. However, the air conditioning was a bit noisy for sleeping. We used the meeting room one morning. The only comment from our IT guy was that the wifi was a bit slow.
The hotel is a short drive to the huge Galleria Mall and many more big box stores and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a southern room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    36
    27
    10
    7
See reviews for
40
20
7
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Quiet, comfortable, nice design and layout. Plenty of room.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The room was large, clean and tv was awesome! The staff wasn't as helpful as you would hope they would be at a Hyatt. The breakfast wasn't what I expected and ham sandwich from downstairs was $9! Overall, it was a good stay and would definetely stay here again with the discount I received from hotwire.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, KY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Love the new layout of the rooms, arranged to make the most of each square foot !! Staff very friendly and helpful.
My reservations for a standard double were made online through a third party. Arrived at 10PM to a packed house but check-in was orderly and relatively quick. When I made my reservation, I requested a standard double and was surprised with one king size bed BUT it worked out fine because couch was a comfy sleeper. Front desk sent up some items from the bistro to make amends. Complimentary breakfast was very nice and the lobby area is extremely stylish. Check out was faster than check in.
Would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We required shuttle service several times during our 3 day business trip, each time we needed it, there they were right on time and with a smile on their face! The staff was very helpful in making sure our stay was enjoyable.

Room Tip: Higher floors & end off hall had no outside noise at all from busy street below
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Riley
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

The room was awesome. It was spacious and I could have spent all day in there. The pool was closed for the season!?!?! It's 85 degrees outside. What are they waiting for? I ordered food and their chicken sandwich was a piece of chicken (could tell it was microwaved, not actually grilled) on a ciabetta roll. That's it. No lettuce, tomatos, onion, nothing. Oh, it came with a bag of chips. All for $9! I actually poked the chicken when I went to get it in the lobby because it didn't even look cooked. I had to call downstairs 3 times to place the order and kep getting put on hold for 3+ minutes at a time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

Family of 5 (3 boys) - if the hotel room would've been (or felt) cleaner - we would've rated it higher. But for $100 - it was a great deal - Especially for that location. Also if the pool would've been open - we Ohioans would've been thrilled to dip in to a nice pool in warm weather! The free breakfast as well as the breakfast dining area were both very well kept. The location is outstanding - so many fun places to go and eat! We'd stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover

Address: 2980 John Hawkins Pkwy, Hoover, AL 35244
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Hoover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Hoover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover Hotel Hoover
Birmingham Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Birmingham/Hoover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.