We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deliciousness.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sumo Japanese Steak House & Sushi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sumo Japanese Steak House & Sushi
151 Main St, Hoover, AL 35244
205-444-1515
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 124 Restaurants in Hoover
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Deliciousness.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We love going here. You never have to wait very long to be seated and the service is always great. The portions are so large, plan on having enough leftovers for another meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Don't waste your time or money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Food was sorry. The service was worse.While in Hoover for the recent race at Talladega ,we dercided to try Sumo's.What a mistake. Our service was below sub-par. Our food matched the service.I myself had a very upset stomach and diarrehea after eating there. Don't waste your timeor money at this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food and no wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Food is very good, the service was excellent, and the portions are large enough to take home some for later! We didn't have sushi this visit, but I have tried it on a previous visit and it was tasty. Our chef was entertaining and engaging.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Sumo's is a good choice for a Friday evening Japanese cuisine experience. My wife is not a huge Asian food fan, but she always likes to go here. The portions are large and delicious, the service is above average, and the chef was entertaining but not obtrusive.. We always have some leftovers to bring home for lunch the next day!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Sushi at it finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A great atmosphere and fresh sushi. We had 3 rolls, sorry don't remember the names, but all were fresh and very pleasant to look at.

$26.00 for 3 rolls, a very good price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sumo Japanese Steak House & Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Sumo Japanese Steak House & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sumo Japanese Steak House & Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.