We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRAVELERS' PARADISE!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Birmingham - Hoover

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Birmingham - Hoover to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Birmingham - Hoover
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Corporate Ridge Drive, Hoover, AL 35242-2934   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Hoover
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“TRAVELERS' PARADISE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have visited the great city of Birmingham, Alabama numerous of times and stayed at many hotels. However, this hotel is one of Birmingham's best kept secret paradise. Likewise, the property sits off of HWY 280 to the right and has a nice view of the HWY and Shops. Shown as I walked into the hotel I was greeted by a wonderful female attendant with a million dollar smile. I had a speedy check-in and was welcomed to take advantage of all the hotel offers. My room was clean, neat, and the bathroom was breathe taking!!! I only spent two nights but wish I could have stayed an entire week. However, due to business I had to report back to reality. Nevertheless, whenever in Birmingham, Alabama please consider this hotel property!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarajmail, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Birmingham - Hoover, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Willie4413:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experiences at our hotel.
We truly appreciate your business; and the kind words. I'm so happy you enjoyed the room; and I have to agree with you the bathroom is my favorite room since our renovation. I will certainly pass on your kind words to our front office person with the million dollar smile, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,
Sara Marquart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    23
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
15
21
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Check-in was terrible. There was a phone at the front desk to call when there was no staff present (I arrived around 8:30p), and a sign stating to do so. After calling four times, there was still no answer. Fourteen minutes after arriving to the front desk, someone showed up and asked if I had called the phone before apologizing that I had to wait. I presume he was out of range of the cordless telephone he had in his pocket, but he assured me the phone was supposed to work in the entire building. There was no acknowledgement or compensation for this wait besides a simple "sorry," which left a poor impression for the remainder of my stay.

After checking in and receiving my room key, I asked if I could spin the IHG Rewards wheel, and he said yes (I was not welcomed as an IHG Rewards member). I landed on the candy bar space, and retrieved the bar from the pantry/laundry room/fitness center. The temperature of the room felt 80-90º, causing all of the candy bars to be quite melted.

The remainder of my stay in my room was good. The kitchen is quite functional and the refrigerator and HVAC are a reasonable volume, not loud like other extended stay hotels I've stayed at. There was a power strip by the bed with a USB port, but it didn't charge my iPhone.

Check-out took at least 5 minutes as well. There seemed to be an issue with pulling up my bill, as well as the printer being out of paper. Once paper was loaded, at least 25 sheets were printed before my statement.

Staff was nice overall, but service was severely lacking. The price was right and the room was better than expected, so I would recommend this property overall, especially if there is a attendant on duty at the desk upon check-in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarajmail, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Birmingham - Hoover, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Pfeifea:
I am so sorry for your check-in/out experiences; it certainly our intention to provide better service for all our guests; yet it looks as though we dropped the ball regarding your time. For this I am very sorry, and we will continue to train our team on better check-in/out procedures.
We are adding a secondary cooling system to the Candlewood Cupboard area this year, so that will help cool it better so that the candy bars are not melted.
I am pleased you enjoyed your room; and how convenient it was.
We will strive to do better with our service so that we will be able to help better the next time you visit.
Sincerely,
Sara Marquart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We were in town for the Vintage Bike festival, as were thousands of others. This is a great place to stay for Barber events. The ride is short and nice. The rooms are spacious and have plenty of amenities to keep costs down. Not a 5 star place, but nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarajmail, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Birmingham - Hoover, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review; we appreciate your kind words! We hope to see you again for your next trip to Barber's Motorsports Park. As you stated our location is very convenient to the Park for all of their events.

Sincerely,
Sara Marquart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed one night traveling through the area in November of 2013. We didn't need anything fancy, or extra amenities. But this room was more than I expected for $65. It was a large suite with stove top, microwave, full fridge, and comfy bed. It was clean, although it had a little wear and tear on the room, which is expected for a hotel. The staff was not overly friendly (nor were they rude), but after driving for 8 hours with a 5 month old baby I didn't care.

If we travel through this area again we will definitely stay here, and we will try other Candlewood Suites.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarajmail, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Birmingham - Hoover, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review; we truly appreciate our kind words and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Sara Marquart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Maybe I didn't read some fine print somewhere, but I was surprised to find out, after being out of the room for most of the day, that there was no maid service. Now, don't get me wrong, I am not someone used to a maid. But, when I am in a hotel it is one of the luxuries I look forward to. To get clean towels we had to take our used ones to the front desk for an exchange.Again, not a great hardship but just a little odd to me.

The room was very clean, with an equipped kitchen. The desk area was spacious, the flatscreen TV very large. The recliner,though, was ripped on the arm and had to be manipulated to get the footrest to go down.

One other thing that WAS bothersome - the first room they gave us was actually occupied. I used my card key to open the door to the surprise of myself and the man in the room. Thankfully he was not naked or anything!! Fortunately I didn't see him again during our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarajmail, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Birmingham - Hoover, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Angie B:

First, let me express our sincere thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Birmingham. We realize you have many choices and we glad you stayed with us.

Secondly, our guests who only stay for a short period of time enjoy their time without interruptions from the staff which is one of the many reasons we don't service the rooms. I do apologize that you were not informed of this during your check-in process.

Finally, I am oh so very sorry for the confusion with the check-in of an occupied room, we typically don't have this problem; but since it did happen we obviously need to do some additionally training with our front office team.

I'm glad you found the room to be clean, and spacious. And just so you know, those recliners are being replaced during the remainder of this year moving into 2014.

We hope you give us another opportunity when you visit Birmingham again.

Sincerely,
Sara Marquart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GADSDEN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I've stayed here numerous tines. It was a great value. Started losing its freshness over the years, but was ok. The final straw for me was making a reservation to check in late and the sleeping night staff tells me over the phone as I'm standing with bags at the front entrance that there is no availability. Luckily I discovered the hotel next door who was very welcoming where I noticed several empty rooms. They were not reserved. I called to check and was told that there was plenty of availability the night before. No apologies from management. Higher rating is for value for price and location.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarajmail, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Birmingham - Hoover, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We are sorry for the problems you experienced; and we will continue to strive to improve our customer service.
Our hotel was remodeled in 2012; therefore making all the rooms new and fresh, including the our new bedding package and towels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We arrived at 2 am & the front desk receptionist (a gentleman) was friendly. All staff that we met were friendly, including Larry the maintenance man. We has asked for two adjoining rooms and both rooms were fully equipped with cooking utensils and cutlery, even a toaster. The fridge was large enough for the 4 of us & the 2 burner stovetop was a blessing to have to prepare meals. The microwave, dishwasher & coffeemaker were all clean & worked well, The rooms were spacious and it was a pleasure to have a roomy desk to work on or to have meals. We also had an iron and ironing board which was useful for us as we were in Birmingham for a wedding & needed to iron dresses and shirts. The small gym was sufficient and the free use of the washing machines & dryers were a bonus. While we didn't purchase any of the items from the Candlewood Cupboard, it was a good feature in the event we ran out of some grocery item. This hotel is just a few minutes away from a Walmart Supercenter where we did our grocery shopping. There were several restaurants nearby, & I especially like the Longhorn Restaurant. On my next trip to the US, I'm looking for Candlewood Suites first!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarajmail, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Birmingham - Hoover, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Trinitg:
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and truly took advantage of all the in-suite amenities we have to offer our guests. I was most pleased to hear that your interactions with our team members was positive! I will certainly let Larry know about your comments.
We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,
Sara Marquart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Birmingham - Hoover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Birmingham - Hoover

Address: 600 Corporate Ridge Drive, Hoover, AL 35242-2934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Hoover
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hoover
#5 Business Hotel in Hoover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Birmingham - Hoover 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home Bedding Collection. Welcome to The Magic City! Our nickname, 'The Magic City' came about in 1871, when the community thrived and grew so quickly that many observers said it happened 'just like magic.' And we carry that tradition into the 21st century at the Candlewood Suites Hotel Birmingham. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Stay for one day, or treat us as your own corporate apartment.Work efficiently at your over-sized executive desk with free high-speed Internet access. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy your favorite movie on your in-room DVD player and you can borrow one of ours from the free DVD library Work off some stress in our fitness center or for a more intense workout we have free membership to the YMCA down the street. Pet friendly hotel with a non-refundable fee based on length of stay. $75 for 1-6 nights, $150 for 7 nights and above. Our Candlewood Suites is located in the heart of the business and shopping district of suburban Birmingham and Hoover. Minutes from Birmingham International Airport, University of Alabama Medical Center,National Guard Offices, and the Birmingham/Jefferson County Convention Center. For shoppers we offer you the Summit Shopping Center in Mountain Brook, the quaint streets of Homewood or the Riverchase Galleria in Hoover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Birmingham - Hoover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Birmingham Hotel Birmingham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Birmingham - Hoover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.