We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iguana Mexican Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Iguana Mexican Grill
2085 Colonial Dr, Hoover, AL 35216-0912
205-987-8240
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 124 Restaurants in Hoover
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: telephone number - (205) 987-8420
Restaurant details
Description: telephone number - (205) 987-8420
Moultrie, Georgia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We love Mexican food and consequently love trying new ones in towns we visit. This jewel of a restaurant is a little hard to find since its tucked back behind some other buildings but is worth looking for. Turn on Colonial Drive off of Lorna Road and turn right almost immediately (about 35 feet) into a strip mall with about 4 other Mexican businesses. Iguana is at the end of the strip. The restaurant is beautifully decorated; service was friendly and fast. True test of a Mexican restaurant is the salsa and this one passed beautifully. We tried the steak fajita chimachanga and steak fajita chili relleno and both were excellent. Portions are large. The fried ice cream desert was authentic and not the 'rolled in corn flakes' kind that you get in some restaurants. The only disappointment to the meal were the margaritas. Bland and 'watered down'. Prices are on the high side but still reasonable for the Birmingham area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Restaurant In Hoover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Wife and I tried out Iguana for the first time. Will be back! Service is way above average. Luke (Lucas) is one of the best waiters I've ever had the pleasure of knowing. Had the Fajita Chimichanga and it did not disappoint. The atmosphere of this place is very lively. Wonderful experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere but underwhelming experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Came to Iguana after deciding it looked like the best option open on Sundays. Big with great decor but fairly empty at 6:30. Waiters seemed pretty clueless and, after consulting each other, decided the up charge to add shrimp to a $9 salad would be $10. They also were unable to explain how there were no vegetarian beans available, despite the fact that the vegetarian part of the menu listed a dish with beans. Our conclusion was that they must serve everyone the same (non-vegetarian) refried beans. The food we ended up getting was fine; however, be aware that you might not be getting what you ask for!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

First visit last night and I was very happy with the service,hospitality,and the food was great.

Hard to see this restaurant driving pass the car wash on Lorna Road,but I am glad I found it.

The food is fresh ,not greasy ,and full of flavor.We tried several items,including salsas,chile peppers and the rice was special.

Preston

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Tried again to see if I was wrong--based on other reviews loving this place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I sort of panned this restaurant before because of average food and bad experience with service on one of two trips--having a coupon again (buy 2 for 1) I tried for the 3rd time

Service again not up to snuff other than the salsa which is quite good/excellent if you get chips (one basket not being re-filled for 5 isn't enough when you also order another dip as well) the food just isn't as good as many other Mexican restaurants in the area.

Don't get me wrong it isn't horrible but there are so many better choices and good service from wait staffs out there---CLOSE--three on street alone--why pick this place?

Those who love it????? Well just try a few more places and see if this is the best as many said???--I think you will find I am right--maybe it is the drinks?--I don't drink--I will say it is clean

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iguana Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to Iguana Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iguana Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.