We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little "secret garden"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aldridge Gardens

Aldridge Gardens
3530 Lorna Road, Hoover, AL 35216
205.682.8019
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Hoover
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice little "secret garden"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I have been to Aldridge gardens many times with my grandchildren. It is a nice little "secret garden" gem for a weekday picnic. We enjoy walking the paved sidewalk trail around the trees and flowering bushes. They also have a nice gravel trail that circles the lake. On uncrowded days, there are benches along the pathway to stop and enjoy the peace and tranquility, and listen to the birds sing. We also enjoy feeding the fish and turtles that swim around the boathouse. I have observed many photographers taking advantage of the beautiful natural setting as a backdrop for professional photos. It has always been well kept when we have been there. Even the bathrooms are usually clean and in good repair.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vestavia Hills, Alabama
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quiet Spot in the City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I walked around the grounds and part way around the lake. It was very quite and peaceful. No children running and screaming, not people in a hurry,,,everyone just walking along looking at the plants, enjoying being there. Took some very nice photos.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A nice garden but not worth going out of the way for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We had a few hours to kill in the area before our plane so decided to find this place and take a walk. Thanks to GPS we found it and it is a pleasant homestead but not a stunning garden. Yes, we were not in season for the flowers but, even so, there is not much to this place. It looks like a great place for the local stay at home moms to bring their toddlers but it really is not in the league of a tourist destination.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Loved the Bonzai trees!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I try to go here as often as I'm in the Birmingham area. Can't believe that this isn't better known and visited in the region.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Walk This Side of Birmingham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Aldridge Gardens opened years ago, but it took us a while to discover the pleasures of this jewel in the middle of Hoover. This is our absolutely favorite place in the area to walk and relax. The gardens themselves are beautiful, and the walk around the lake is a pleasant half-mile of nature, turtles, ducks, and tranquility.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aldridge Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Aldridge Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aldridge Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.