We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great management” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover to your Saves list
Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2725 John Hawkins Parkway, Hoover, AL 35244   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Hoover
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mississippi
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great management”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is a typical Residence Inn, meaning a good night at a good hotel. I had enough points for a room, but I really needed a 2 bedroom to accommodate my family. The hotel was full when I checked in because of the soccer tournament we were there for, and when I asked, the assistant manager was very apologetic about not being able to upgrade me.(I am a Marriott rewards member) I told him I understood, retrieved my key, and went to get lunch. I received a phone call from the hotel before I could get back to the hotel. The management was calling to tell me they had located a two-bedroom for me because of an early check out. The hotel even opened the breakfast room earlier to accomodate all of the young soccer players who had to be at the field before the regular weekend breakfast hours. That is what I call service. The hotel is conveniently located near the Galleria and MANY restaurants. Another great Marriott stay...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa S, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a positive review. We try very hard to accommodate our guests and I am so pleased we succeeded with you. If we can ever help you again when you are in the Hoover area, just give us a call.


Sincerely,
Alyssa Stroup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    32
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
52
15
7
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hoover, Alabama
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in a Studio Suite,it was enough room for two I wouldn't try anymore than that in this type room. Check in was fast(even though some of the front desk staff lack professionalism). Some touch up work is in order. Noticable scuff marks through out room.Lets not forget the hole in the wall. We did mention this to the front desk,the young lady didn't really seem to care.The heating & air system is loud. Furniture showing it's age. The bed is very uncomfortable,the mattress is toooooooo soft.Would we stay here again? well.......if we just wanted a quick get-a-way close to home like this time, maybe if we got a good rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa S, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to inform me of areas of needed improvement. I am sorry that you had an uncomfortable night due to the softness of the bed. I will address the mattress, room condition and front desk issues with each department head. Once again, thank you for your constructive criticism as this helps us grow as a company. Please feel free to contact me with any other concerns you have.

Sincerely,
Alyssa Stroup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying that I am a very loyal Marriott customer. I stay almost exclusively at a Marriott property just about every week for work. I have over 590+ nights stayed with Marriott Rewards.

This week I was in Birmingham visiting family, and decided to stay here at Residence Inn Hoover. Past stays here have been great, and for the most part the hotel, which is only 2 or 3 years old had been being kept up pretty well. However, I did notice this week that there seems to be a lack of general maintenance and general housekeeping going on.

My 1 bedroom suite was just ok for the most part, however was missing the normal recliner in the living area (the ottoman was still there...odd). The entry door to the suite was pretty dirty..splatters and scrapes, nasty hand prints, and marks all on it. The bathroom was a bit dirty as well. The exhaust above the tub/shower combo was gross...black grey fuzz built up all over it. The tile edge by the tub was all molded as well. The kitchen area had crumbs still left over from the previous cucsomers.

I parked on the highway side of the property so used the back entrance to come and go. The back entry door was extremely nasty! So nasty in fact that the painted area above the door handle was not white any longer, but instead a nasty brownish black color! How hard is it for housekeeping to spray it and wipe it off occasionally?? Noone wants to see that, much less touch it! The doors leading to the 1st floor room areas on the left nd right sides of the central hall were about the same condition...and generally beat up pretty badly.

Housekeeping and maintenance need to step up their game here. Note to hotel management...take a walk around the property and check up on things occasionally.


Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa S, General Manager at Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your concerns about our hotel. We are currently working on replacing our recliners as they are very worn. As for the hotel, I agree with you there are some manintenance and housekeeping issues that need to be addressed. I am working with the hotel supervisors to improve our overall appearance, as we will be 5 years old this August. Please contact me personally by email or phone, alyssa.stroup@marriott.com or 205-733-1655, to further dicuss your concerns with your stay. Once again, thank you for taking the time out to help us improve.

Sincerely,
Alyssa Stroup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was a very nice hotel! My kids, ages 1 and 4, accompanied my husband and myself on this 'family trip' as my 4-year old would say. My kids really enjoyed being away from home and feeling like they were in a castle, lol! The room was very nice. They offered to go pick up groceries free of charge. I was really impressed that they had a full kitchen including cooking, cleaning and eating utensils. They offered both hot and cold breakfast which was delicious, by the way. The lady that was keeping the food well stocked and cleaned was extremely nice! Kudos to her..she worked the breakfast bar on 02/10/13. Overall, thanks for a great stay...will be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My family of four stayed here for two nights, January 4th and 5th. I prefer staying in condos on extended trips but on short trips such as this, I still want at least a separate bedroom. This is what we had here and we were very pleased. One note of caution is that it can be noisy on the street side (our side) but it did not keep any of our 4 from sleeping soundly. Just might want to ask for a room on the other side. The staff at the front desk was so helpful, just wished I remembered their names to give them a shout out. The second night my wife and I sat in the lobby by the fireplace for over two hours visiting with a friend who had come to see us. My wife was using her smart phone to use the internet. She was having some problems and the night manager spent several minutes helping her. He even called the motel technical support and got my wife on the phone to talk to them. As far as our room, it was very comfortable. The bedroom seemed a little small but the king size bed was nice. Shower pressure was fine. This is a very nice place to stay and is a great bargain also.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

As a whole, this hotel was better than the Hyatt down the street (which was the first hotel we had reservations for). Smelled clean, in a nice, lighted, safe location. The room was really crowded with furniture but was nicely stocked with anything one might need in the kitchen or such. On a general inspection, this place looked pretty good- wiped counters in the kitchen, granite end tables, and clean sheets. On closer inspection, the Furniture was a little worn and cracked, the sink area in the bath had literal boogers wiped on the wall, and the unplaced stopper in the tub made it possible for anyone to see the incredibly hair laden drain.... The next morning was the really priceless deal breaker. As I picked up my jewelry that I had laid on the end table the night before, I noticed some small whitish particles about the size of rice grains. I opened the curtains to let light in. I squinted down to see what had been beside my head all night and discovered that the whole granite table was covered in someone else's finger and toe nail trimmings! Bleech!!!!! That only meant that the housekeeping had neglected to even try to wipe off the table from previous guests. The entire table was covered!!!!!!! I was so upset!!! So lesson is- ok establishment but maybe check on the Embassy Suites or the new Hampton Inn down the street first ----- unless you enjoy toenails.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I am a real hotel snob. Cleanliness with no gross smells rank at the top of my list when looking for a hotel on the road. I also always try to locate the newer hotels along my route, and will often stay a little off the beaten path if it will give me what I want and need in a hotel.
I am a brand new pet owner and have always steered clear of staying at pet-friendly hotels for fear of pet odor, soiled carpets, etc. But this past weekend was my first experience travelling with my dog and needing a hotel. I had heard good things about the per-friendly Residence Inns. And I had a great experience with a Residence Inn 2 years ago in Baton Rouge.
Well, my stay this past weekend was a very positive one. The room was very clean, no evidence at all of a pet ever being in my room. Smelled fresh. The guy at the front desk was so accommodating and even came down to my room to reset the a/c unit with a "VIP code" to cool it way down for us. It stayed cool all night and with the rain coming in during the night, we all slept soundly. We crated our dog the entire time and she slept too. It was a great experience. The breakfast was good and I was impressed with the breakfast staff. They kept things replenished and very clean. I met Alyssa, the manager, at check-out and she was very professional and accommodating. We will definitely be staying at Residence Inn again and if we find ourselves back in Hoover, we will stay there again.
The only negative that would be great to correct is there was no DISNEY CHANNEL on the TV. This is the first time I have ever experienced this problem at a hotel. When travelling with children, The Disney Channel is a MUST. NO IFS ANDS OR BUTS ABOUT IT. Residence Inn, please see about adding the Disney Channel to your channel line-up. Y'all had HBO, but that doesn't entertain small kids. Thank you!

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor. I liked this. Right next to lobby and breakfast and no waiting fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover

Address: 2725 John Hawkins Parkway, Hoover, AL 35244
Location: United States > Alabama > Hoover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hoover
#4 Family Hotel in Hoover
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hoover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoover / Birmingham Residence Inn by Marriott hotel is conveniently located just 20 miles from the Birmingham International Airport and nearby attractions including - Vulcan Park, Birmingham Zoo, Civil Rights Institute, Alabama Adventure, and Birmingham Botanical Gardens. Extended stay suites include complimentary Internet, mini-fridge, microwave, and flat screen TV. Additional hotel amenities include complimentary hot breakfast buffet, complimentary parking, pool, fitness center, and meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover Hotel Hoover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Birmingham Hoover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.