We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but not for me” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Little Donkey

Little Donkey
2821 Central Avenue, Homewood, AL 35209
(205) 703-7000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 70 Restaurants in Homewood
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not bad but not for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family and I went there for a birthday celebration as we had heard so many good things about this restaurant. There were 5 of us and we all felt the same way about our experience. Service was slow but friendly. Went around 1p on a Saturday and they were busy. Each of us tried something different so we could "taste". We enjoyed the chips/salsa. How we would rate entree's are... best - brisket quesadilla, then drunken hog followed by queso fundido and last was the chicken tinga. For us it wasn't bad but as mexican food is one of our favorites, we would choose a couple of different mexican restaurants in the area over this one. I guess we can say "been there, done that" but won't repeat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    28
    10
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had a chance to visit Little Donkey for the first time on a rainy Saturday night of July 4th weekend. Went early, not crowded although it was full by the time we left. Our server was very friendly and the food was very good. Had 2 tacos (fish and brisket). Came back later for a nightcap. Nice choice of craft beer on tap and specialty drinks. Will return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fun casual Mexican restaurant in Homewood. Great food and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Fun casual restaurant with great service. Has huge garage doors that open up so you feel like you are outside. The chips and margaritas are delicious. Menu has some unusual items that are very tasty. Be sure to try the corn. Our group had a fun time!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

My first visit today at the Little Donkey and I will be back! Unique and absolutly delicious mexican food. I had the Queso Fundido, awesome! Loved the egg, rice, cheese side...a must!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Food Fun Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

As a New Mexican visiting Albuquerque I was a little skeptical when my friends told me the were taking me to an amazing Mexican fusion restaurant in Birmingham. Luckily, I was pleasantly surprised. I had the fried chicken and it was amazing. The corn on the cob was the best corn on the cob I had ever had. As for the Mexican food it lived up to my standards. Try the sangria it is great!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Donkey also viewed

 

Been to Little Donkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Donkey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.