We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Homewood Birmingham Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Homewood Birmingham Area to your Saves list
Super 8 Homewood Birmingham Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   140 Vulcan Road, Homewood, AL 35209-4702   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Homewood
Greenville, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

There were several people hanging out in the parking lot...am not sure if they were homeless or what. The room was very old and had a small bathroom. The ceiling had brown spots. As we were going down the hallway in the morning, we saw a note on one of the doors that said they had moved to another room because of bugs. Breakfast was frozen waffles, dry cereal, and doughnuts. Ceiling in breakfast nook was very brown and partially repainted white patches. If we hadn't been traveling with a moving van and weren't so tired, we would have left immediately.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Super 8 Homewood Birmingham Area, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    47
    38
    17
    15
See reviews for
45
25
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2007

Overall an ok hotel but nothing special. Breakfast was below average. The staff didn't go out of their way to help. The exercise room was better than nothing but less than what you would hope for. Overall not bad but not a great value.

  • Liked — Close to Jim N Nicks BBQ
  • Disliked — You have to ask for everything
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Super 8 Homewood Birmingham Area, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2006

When we arrived two policemen were in the lobby. The desk clerk told us the police were there to do their regular nightly check. I'm not sure that made me feel any more secure. Mostly it made me wonder why the police needed to come by every night.

The desk clerk was on the phone the entire time we were checking in. We were two women traveling with a small child--at a hotel where the police check every night--yet the desk clerk said our room number out loud in front of other guests when she handed over our room keycard.

As we unloaded the car, the policemen were leaving, and one drove through the parking lot very slowly with his spotlight on. It was creepy, and it was only about 8 p.m.

The room was in dire need of updating and didn't seem very clean. The walls were marred and scuffed. The plaster in the bathroom was cracked and there were cigarette burns on the sink (a non-smoking room). The front panel of the sink was missing. Neither the bathroom or the sleeping area appeared to have been vacuumed recently.

On the plus side, the room was quiet, and it did have a microwave, small refrigerator and cable TV.

We didn't stay for the continental breakfast, but we could see the breakfast room was very small.

I've stayed at many Super 8 hotels, and usually have had a pleasant experience. This was an exception. Overall our stay was disappointing; I don't plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Super 8 Homewood Birmingham Area, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Homewood Birmingham Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Homewood Birmingham Area

Address: 140 Vulcan Road, Homewood, AL 35209-4702
Location: United States > Alabama > Homewood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Homewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Homewood Birmingham Area 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in Homewood, Alabama, which is centrally located to Birmingham, AL. Our staff is friendly and helpful. Come stay with us and we will direct you to all of the best locations that Birmingham has to offer. All rooms have Free Wireless High Speed Internet. Fitness Center Available. To start your day, try our Super Start Breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Homewood Birmingham Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Homewood Birmingham Area Hotel Homewood
Homewood Super 8
Homewood Super Eight
Super Eight Homewood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Homewood Birmingham Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.