We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - Right by Samford” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Shades Creek Parkway, Homewood, AL 35209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Homewood
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location - Right by Samford”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

As a Samford parent, the location of this hotel can't be beat. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the food is pretty good. My only complaint is that the room prices appear to go up when there is a big activity at Samford like Homecoming or Parent's Weekend. That being said, I have stayed here a number of different times and have always found the rooms to be clean and the staff to be friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments regarding our hotel. We love being so close to Samford University and value our relationship with the school. We do offer a Samford rate which can offer you a discount but it is based upon avalability so please book early. Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you again when in Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    36
    27
    5
    8
See reviews for
31
15
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This hotel is located directly across from Brookwood Mall and Target and down the street from Samford and Wildwood Shopping Center and is near a Wal-Mart and a Sam's. My room was very clean. The rooms at Courtyard contain refrigerators, but no microwaves which makes no sense. You are provided with soap, conditioner, etc..There is a fitness room with the minimum weights being 10 pounds. The fitness room contains about 3 treadmills. The temperature in the fitness room cannot be adjusted because you need an engineer to do that. In the middle of the hotel is a lobby, with a food stand, and some drinks ($3.00). There are no vending machines in the hotel. There is no free breakfast. There is cable though and most of the channels seem to work unlike some of the other Courtyards. The staff is pleasant. Unfortunately, Courtyards only treat you nice as an Elite customer if you pay directly to the hotel. If you pay through Priceline, your membership in the Elite program does not matter (it doesn't really matter anyway).

I would stay here again if I didn't need to be in town over 2 nights. Otherwise, I would stay in Towneplace, which has a full kitchell, living room, and bedroom.

Room Tip: Make a left on LAKESHORE at the Shell near Brookwood Mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the review of your stay while with us at the Courtyard Homewood. It is always fantastic to hear from our customers point of view. This feedback is the only way we can get better as a hotel. As you mentioned our Bistro restaurant is located in the hotel and serves a wide variety of breakfast and dinner options. As there are no vending on the floors we try and offer just as many options 24 hours a day in our Market located by the front desk as well. We love our loation next to Samford University and would love to have you back. Thank you for choosing Marriott and we look forward to seeing you again on a future stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

They have a nice, large-hotel-style lobby with a small bar for food and drinks, almost like you would get in a nice hotel but on a much smaller scale. The rest of the lobby is clean and modern with comfortable places to sit and watch TV or just relax. CJ at the front desk was very pleasant and, from the moment I tried to make my reservation, everyone was extremely helpful.

The room was nothing exciting, but it was in good repair, everything worked, and the beds were comfortable. Oh, and clean. Very clean.

Parking was fine during the day, but we discovered that when we got home late that we had to walk a ways around the building.

This would be about 3.5 stars on my personal, much harder, grading scale, but they got a bump for doing it all right. I recommend them.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and love to recongnize our staff. We will recognize CJ during our next stand up meeting from your kind words. Thanks again for the feedback and thank you for choosing Marriott!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semmes, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

As per request of my grandfather who has Althimers, he wanted to go visit my brother in Birmingham this was the closest hotel to his home. we get there there was food all over the floor and under the coach bed. we notified the front desk (they did nothing) we tell them again in the morning about the disgusting food all over within a few hour of us visiting my brother we come back to our hotel room to discover bugs...(its late we go to sleep they said they didn't have another room) the next morning we take my grandpa to visist my brother and come back to the hotel. NOW THERE ARE BUGS IN THE BEDS AND TABLES AND ON THE PILLOW! We tell the front desk they said we called the exterminator company that all we can do. I said give us another room... 4 hours later we got another room.. they didnt help us moved or anything the MANAGER WAS RUDE and DIDNT CARE. We were horribly upset and my grandpa was in a very upset state to the point we had to cut our trip short and bring him home to see his dr. I contacted the HOTEL they said we are not going to do anything. we wont refund your money for one night. we dont see that we did anything wrong. When i booked the room i told them i was traveling with someone with special needs. They dont care if they ruin your trip... STAY ELSEWHERE... I Have pics and video of the hotel with bugs crawling on the beds and tables... I didn't swim but the poor was filthy with crap floating on the water....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your stay at our hotel this past summer. We obviously want to hear both the positive and also improvement areas our hotel has. I apologize regarding your experience as a whole and would love to try and speak with you about it and see what we can do to rectify anything and also apologize in person. I can be reached at (205) 879-0400. In the meantime you can rest assure that I will look into each aspect of your feedback and rectify as needed. Thank you for choosing Marriott!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is an awesome hotel. I stayed here for 5 nights for the Brookwood opening and the place is perfect. The check in was a breeze I had a great room. Everyone was so friendly. I really enjoyed my stay. There is only one elevator but that is ok plenty of parking did not have one complaint. Great for business travelers

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms near the elevator or the back corner those are the quiet ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us! We appreciated your business and are thrilled to have the brand new Fresh Market right out of our front door. My staff is an eqully excited having the Fresh Market to recommend to guests and appreciated your kind words on the service received while with our hotel. Please do not hesitate to see us agan when in the Birmingham area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This Courtyard was just as great as the one in La Jolla, CA. From walking in to the modern lobby and greeting area to the service at the counter. We arrived late and received the exact room we were looking for. There was no parking available out front, and I parked my car curbside away from the entrance without anyone complaining. Very nice. The room was perfect temperature upon arrival, clean and the usual modern look that we have come to like so much. Slept very well without any noise. The next morning the bistro allowed us the luxury of grabbing a pear and walnut parfait and smoothie on our way out the door as we headed to the football game. The location is close by the 65 and right by some good restaurants as well. You can't go wrong with this hotel and I will choose it over any full service Marriott hotel elsewhere in town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you so much for you kind comments regarding your stay with us! We love to hear when all aspects of our guests stay goes well. Our staff loves the feedback and we continue to push to give the level of service and quality of product to come to find with Marriott. We would love to have you back when in Birmingham again whether it be to follow the Tide (RTR) or on business or othr pleasure travel. Thank you for choosing Marriott!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Myself and two other guys shared a room for a conference we were attending at Samford University. It was very close to Samford, as well as a shopping complex, restaurants, etc. We reserved this room by bidding on Priceline, and were given a room with one king bed and a sofabed. All sheets and pillows for the sofabed were in the room, and I would assess it a 5/10 on the comfortable scale (it is a sofabed). We didn't eat breakfast, as you had to pay for it ($3-$12) we were told, and opted for Chick-fil-A instead. The room was a bit small, but had a nice, large TV. It was also a huge hotel, and you had two walk all the way around it to get to the elevator, which was a bit odd. The staff who checked us in was not the most friendly, but got the job done. Overall, it was a good deal for a quick one-night stay, especially when booked through Pricleine. Not sure if it would have been worth it for us had we paid full price.

Room Tip: Anything above the first floor will require a long walk to the elevator, or a walk up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay! We appreciate all guest feedback. It allows us room to improve for future guests and increase our level of service. We love our location to Samford (Go Bulldogs!) and appreciate all the business it brings to our hotel. If you are ever in the area again we would love the opportunity to nail our service increse your loyalty to Marriott. We can even get you a specified room if needed just give any of our managers a call and we can pre-block your room. Thanks for chooing Marriott and we look forward to your future stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homewood
1.1 mi away
aloft Birmingham Soho Square
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Mountain Brook
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel Birmingham/Homewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites
3.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham SW
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood

Address: 500 Shades Creek Parkway, Homewood, AL 35209
Location: United States > Alabama > Homewood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Homewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Birmingham Homewood Hotel Homewood
Courtyard Homewood
Homewood Courtyard
Homewood Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.