We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stop!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Shades Creek Parkway, Homewood, AL 35209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Homewood
Toronto
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great place to stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked this hotel on line and were not sure what to expext. Very nice well kept property, the staff were very pleasant, the rooms were clean and the out door areas were kept very clean. What more could you ask for! I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Thier rooms face out into the parking lot areas or in to the pool area, I would definitely request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Good Day! Thank you so much for your kind words. We have shared your comments with our staff and they love to hear when their hard work is paying off. We strive to ensure our hotel is well kept and in good condition for all our guests and it sounds like we met those expectations with you. Thanks again for the comments and please visit us if you are in Birmingham again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    30
    22
    2
    5
See reviews for
23
10
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a very nice stay at this Marriott. The room was clean, quiet, and very comfortable. The bed was superb resulting in a great night's sleep. The pool and outdoor seating areas were very nice and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
It was great to hear your comments on your stay with our hotel! We love our outdoor patio and pool area and our guests enjoy it each hot summer day here in the south. We strive to give the best service and product we can here at the Courtyard and I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed this. Please visit us again and thank you for choosing Marriott!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was a nice stop for a family with a four year old on the way home from the beach. Hotel was clean and comfortable. Outdoor pool was ideal for burning off energy for our son after traveling In the car. Very close to various restaurants and shopping. Plus, it is located in a nice area in Birmingham, close to Interstate 65. Will stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for the response on your stay with us! We love our location as well close to the cities of Mountain Brook and Vestavia Hills. We also love having the Brookwood Mall directly at our front door. It sounds as if you enjoyed this too. I am very happy to hear that your son enjoyed our pool area as well. Thank you again and next time you are on teh way to the beach we look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you are visiting Samford, this is the best place to stay as it is the closest hotel to the campus. The staff was very friendly and hotel was very clean. I would definitely stay there again! They have a nice coffee, breakfast, snack bar in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff and Bistro restaurant in our lobby! We appreciate the feedback. Our location to Samford is a plus for anyone visiting the campus as we are less than 1 mile away. We look forward to hosting you on any return visits and thank you for choosing Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, MI
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is clearly one of the original Courtyards but has obviously had a recent refresh and was quite nice.

Check in was handled in a fast friendly way. They have updated this Courtyard to the new lobby style and it was clean, bright, and well presented.

I was placed on the second floor around toward the back of the property. The easiest way to access my room was to park in the back and take the stairs up one floor. The public stairways did have some duct tape on them holding the carpet down so that was a bit of a surprise.

The room was a good size and nicely updated. The bed was comfortable, the carpet newer and in good shape, along with a nice flat screen TV that actually got HD programming.

The high speed internet was reliable and speedy enough for my needs.

Hot water was plentiful which along with the standard Courtyard shower head provided a nice shower as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments related to your recent stay at the Courtyard Homewood. We are one of the first Courtyard's in the brand and very proud of it. Our recent renovation has been well recieved and we appreciate the further feedback. I am aware of the stair issue too and we have taken steps to address this issue. The tape is a interm solution while we receive a new piece. Thank you again for choosing Courtyard and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for a nite on way home from Fl and was very impressed. Very comfortable bed and pillows, clean, quiet. Got a great nites rest. Comparable to other four star hotels. Definitely would recommend this hotel if u are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments related to your recent stay. I am very happy to hear your stay was comfortable and in order. I love hearing all feedback from ur guests. Thank you again for yours and thank you for choosing Marriott!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Long walk to the rooms from the lobby area. Breakfast is expensive, but that is the Courtyard. Hotel is in a nice area with lots of dining options. Overall, I would recommend this hotel. Best for business travelers.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. We are proud of the area we are in next to the Brookwood Mall with numerous dining and shopping options. I also noticed that you mentioned the long walks to your room. It is true our building is more spread out than som other hotels. We would love to have you stay with us again. If you call in advance we would love tosave you a room up front too. Just ask for Dan the GM and we will be happy to accomodate. Thanks again for the feedback and thank you for choosing Marriott!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood

Address: 500 Shades Creek Parkway, Homewood, AL 35209
Location: United States > Alabama > Homewood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Homewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Birmingham Homewood Hotel Homewood
Courtyard Homewood
Homewood Courtyard
Homewood Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.