We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Shades Creek Parkway, Homewood, AL 35209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Homewood
Daytona Beach, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location and stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott for one night during a business trip and it was perfect for the occasion. Easy access to downtown, mall with great restaurant options right down the street and a friendly-inviting staff. Birmingham is beautiful in the fall and as I walked to my car I received amazing views of the cities changing leaves. Everything was clean, only issue was that the elevator was down, but they put me on the second floor so it really wasn't too much of an inconvenience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Good Day! Thank you so much for your feedback on your stay at our Courtyard. I was very pleased to hear that our staff was helpful and accomodating during your stay. Our elevator is still under repair as we go through our renovation and will be back up and running towards the end of the year as we wrap up our redo. However, we do have several eager staff to help with luggage as needed during this time. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again when in Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    31
    23
    2
    6
See reviews for
23
10
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We bid a great rate on this location on Priceline. For the rate it was a great deal. Rooms were larger than we expected. Staff was very accommodating in providing requested rolls ways. Only negatives were the hallway carpets are stained and the drinks they charged us for were never the same price and when we asked about it the employee shrugged it off.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your response on your recent stay at our hotel! I appreciate the kind words about that staff being able to accomodate your requests. I have also looked at the pricing in our market area and ensured that all drinks were audited to ensure consistent pricing. Finally, I am excited to report that our hotel will be going under renovation this November and December which includes repalcement of out hallway carpet. Thanks again for the comments and please come visit us again when in the Homewood area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

from the first impression to the last, very courteous staff & accommodating. cool lobby, chic- but still kid friendly. room very clean & quiet. seemed geared toward the business traveler. the bistro provided a tasty breakfast & was well suited for our needs. got a very nice deal on Priceline!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel! I am very happy to hear we were able to meet your needs while staying with us and that our staff was on point with their service. I was also happy to hear that our staff made your room clean and inviting throughout your stay. An added bonus for our hotel will be our upcoming rooms renovation in November and December this year which will add even more value for you our guest when staying at our hotel. Thank you again for you comments and please visit us again when in the Birmingham area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Won the room through Priceline. Stayed here for both nights of a weekend. Room was clean. Beds were fine. Front desk guy was great. No problems with stay. There is a small refrigerator but no microwave. Carpet in halls was stained in some areas. Would stay again for Priceline price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you so much for the comments on your recent stay at our hotel! We always value the feedback from all of our guests. I am glad to hear that our staff member at the front desk was able to give you such great service and in reference to our carpet in the hallways we are having a full renovation completed and the carpet will be replaced in full this November and December. Again, thank you for you comments and we hope to see you again when in the Birmingham area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a two night business trip. The staff was friendly and efficient in all respects, even arranged a cab for 5 a.m. without a hitch. The room was a decent size with all of the usual amenities, including a small fridge. However, the overall impression of the hotel is that it needs updating and maintenance - dirty grout in the bathroom, stained carpet in the hallways, tattered draperies. A quick refresh and this hotel would move up a category.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel! We always welcome the feedback so we are able to improve our service and our product. We do realize that there are some items that are due for a face lift and are happy to inform you that we will be going through an extensive rooms renovation beginning this November. This will allow us to move to that next category and provide an even better product for our guests! I am also happy to hear that our staff was able to take care of your needs while with us. Please when back in the Homewood area come visit us again and thank you again for you comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed here for 10 nights for a business trip and it was a very good stay. The room was not cramped and was always clean. The bed was comfortable and always provided a good night's sleep. The area was quiet enough, you could hear the kids in the pool sometimes and people as they came by the door but this is the same as any hotel. I enjoyed having a mini fridge in the room as I could bring my leftovers for dinner back to the hotel to eat for lunch the next day. Housekeeping was great and always kept the room spotless. The front desk staff were also very friendly, professional and took care of my questions with ease.

The area is quite nice around the hotel. The mall is across the street and has a number of dining options including Jason's Deli, 5 Guys, Applebees's, A mexican place, Italian resturant plus more. If this doesnt't suit you there are several more restuarant options within a few miles in Festivia Hills or Greensprings Hwy. There is also a great running/biking trail that starts at the end of the mall and goes for 3 miles so if you want to keep up with your fitness this is a great option. The hotel is also less than a mile from Samford University so this is a great option if you are visiting students there.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the homewood area due to location, cleanliness and friendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms 120-124 are right near the side entrance and makes coming in and out a breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments on your recent stay at our hotel! We value the feedback and our staff loves to hear the kind words of our patrons. We love our location next to the Brookwood Mall, Samford, and several dining choices too. When back in Homewood we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The room was clean although the hotel decor was a bit dated, features were a little worn and a new paint job wouldn't hurt. The cleaning staff clearly use a lot of Febreeze or other room freshener and the entire hotel complex smelled like that. Can't really complain, at least it was a clean smell.
The beds were a bit uncomfortable for my taste. I am accustomed to a very plush bed, and this bed was a bit hard.
The best part of this hotel was the staff -- super nice, super accommodating and helpful. The customer service for this property was top notch. Many higher end properties could learn a lesson about customer service from these folks. I had no real issues, but it was just so nice to have someone inquire about my needs, check on the room and call me by my name. I generally stay at 4-5 star properties that boast of customer service, but it always seems a little contrived. Not here.
This would be a great place for family or group. I stayed for business and it was a bit out of the way for my needs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan A, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback on your stay with us at the Courtyard Homewood. Your compliments of our staff are very appreciated! We are also excited to note that we will be conducting a rooms renovation update this coming November after Thanksgiving which will include all new mattresses too. Again, we appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing Marriott!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood

Address: 500 Shades Creek Parkway, Homewood, AL 35209
Location: United States > Alabama > Homewood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Homewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Birmingham Homewood Hotel Homewood
Courtyard Homewood
Homewood Marriott
Homewood Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Birmingham Homewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.