We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary Comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of aloft Birmingham Soho Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added aloft Birmingham Soho Square to your Saves list
aloft Birmingham Soho Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1903 29th Avenue South, Homewood, AL 35209   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Homewood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Moulton, AL.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Contemporary Comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel is contemporary in style and function. We stayed here for a wedding weekend at the end of June. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the hotel sports an indoor pool and a small, but very adequate gym. The neighborhood is very good, being within walking distance of many interesting shops, restaurants, bars, coffee shops, etc. The room was comfortable and adequately sized. My only complaint was minor and had to do with the layout of the room. The sofa was placed under the television and the only place you could sit and watch TV was from the bed. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    84
    27
    18
    13
See reviews for
38
33
21
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a nice little corner of Homewood with some fun restaurants and bars within walking distant. The hotel is your standard ALOFT, which I like. Functional. Slightly minimalist. Kind of cool.
Very friendly staff.
My room had some minor issues that I did report to the staff such as a dead bolt that didn't seem to like to unlock easily. Or a shower stall door with a tad too much space that made things wet.
The beds are fine, but the sheets aren't super comfy - you'd kind of expect a little bit of Westin magic here, but they are just basic.

I stay here fairly often when visiting Alabama. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here recently for business and was very impressed. Loved the neighborhood - tons of great restaurants and bars close by. All within walking distance. The hotel was very tasteful as well - well appointed lobby, nice bar. Room was perfect - awesome bedding, great bathroom. Courteous staff too. Very nice experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We stay at this hotel every year when we visit on business. The front desk staff is always terrific as they were this trip (Charlotte). The rooms are comfortable and it has everything I need. The bartender lady pored a terrific martini and I always enjoy the pool table. I recommend this hotel for business travelers.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at aloft Birmingham Soho Square, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear JoeyNoodles,
We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, and you enjoyed our W XYZ bar and Re:mix lounge pool table. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, and we hope you will stay with us again soon. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwoody, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The rooms are very bare bones. The beds were ok. There was not much privacy when sharing with other people. This hotel is best when traveling alone. The bar was very nice and had some people throwing a party. They invited us to join and we had a good time. The pool is very small, but the gym is a decent size. You have to pay for everything with regard to food. Although I would stay here again, I wouldn't choose this location first. I just wasn't that comfortable in this place. Staff were wonderful and helpful - definitely good customer service, just overpriced. Like another member said, it reminds me of a cheap European hostel look.

Room Tip: The higher in the hotel the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Really cool hotel with a great location. Rooms are very modern and nice. Stayed there with my son and a friend of his and they liked it a lot. There are a lot of great restaurants, shops, bakeries and coffee shops in walking distance. Jensui Sushi, Oh Henry Coffee Shop, Savage Bakery and Shai's Men's Store are all great places to go to.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The people that work here are very nice, and the lobby area is cool. The parking is easy (behind the building), and the location has lots of non-chain restaurants and bars. The area really has a nice vibe.

My room, however, had the closet of a cheap European hostel and similar aesthetics throughout (but the bed was big and comfy). I love modern style - this just is ugly.

Also - it seems like a kid got her sucker stuck to the floor in my room - some sort of pink/sticky looking (I didn't touch it) thing on the floor.

Note: my room was midway down the hall from the elevator and was really loud. If I weren't a heavy sleeper, this would be an issue. I don't think I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to aloft Birmingham Soho Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Birmingham Soho Square

Address: 1903 29th Avenue South, Homewood, AL 35209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Homewood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Homewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Birmingham Soho Square 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Birmingham Soho Square is a hip new hotel! Enjoy the chic amenities of Soho Square. Walk to great shopping and local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your aloft Birmingham Soho Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Birmingham Soho Square Hotel Homewood
Aloft Hotel Homewood
Birmingham Soho Square Aloft

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage aloft Birmingham Soho Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.