We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and quality food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Cork Room

Sunset Cork Room
225 E 16th Ave, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
+1 251-967-4773
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 122 Restaurants in Gulf Shores
Price range: $7 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Sunset Cork Room is an exciting new concept for the Gulf Coast. We offer unique wines from around the world complemented by beautiful appetizers and exquisite desserts. Our resident Chef Ira Gallon will have your mouth watering and our staff will have you relaxed and at ease. "A little off the beaten path", the Cork Room is an excellent way to escape the typical beach fare and step into a more sophisticated, personal atmosphere. We're also the perfect place to talk over plans with associates or meet up with friends. We offer live acoustic music, soft lighting and a stunning decor.
Campbellsville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent service and quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We discovered this great place after 13 trips to Gulf shores. An acquaintance on the beach highly recommended the location. The filet and shrimp were both delicious and very reasonable.They have a nice wine selection and my husband was happy with the full service bar. The "light" live music was also a nice surprise. A perfect ending to a great vacation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    9
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Locals Favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Cannot beat the $2 Tuesdays but go any day of the week and you will sample good food and a caring wait staff. Ask for the Jack London Cab it's fantastic!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Great place for date night. Food is outstanding and they have a large selection of wine but some wines are very expensive. We had Grouper and a Filet and both were delicious and cooked to perfection. Maybe a temporary deal but on Tuesday late afternoon/evening they have $2.00 glasses of wine. Small restaurant with a great atmosphere. This is not a beach type restaurant where you would expect to see flip-flops and tank tops as although casual is not beach casual. Locals seem to flock to the place. Recommend a visit if you want a different atmosphere than a beach bar ultra-casual restaurant. Give it a try!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Date Night Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We discovered this place on our second trip to the Gulf Shores. The food was excellent. I had the seared tuna and my husband had the rack of lamb. Both were excellent and cooked perfectly especially the lamb. The lamb was recommended to us by the staff as the most popular dish on the menu. We were torn about what to order not because there were an overwhelming number of options just that everything looked really good. We also had the bisque which I would have loved to be just a little bit thicker; however, it was still delicious. My one critique would be that the place has great atmosphere but they could use someone to come in to help with the lighting in the place. Some tables there wasn't enough light and for our table there was too much light. We will definitely go back and I would also like to go back during one of there live music nights.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A lovely small restaurants known mostly by locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Arrived early with friends to enjoy wine and delicious starters and entrees. Friends had the special- chargrilled romaine with sliced fillet, cherries and homemade balsamic dressing. They raved about the flavors. Hubby had shrimp bisque and salad and I so enjoyed Gouda grits and two small crab cakes and salad with peach balsamic dressing. A local gal was the featured musician but tonight the other guests were a little too noisy for us to enjoy her music.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Cork Room also viewed

 

Been to Sunset Cork Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Cork Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.