We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, shabby rooms!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN on the Beach to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 East Beach Blvd., PO Box 481, Gulf Shores, AL 36547   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great staff, shabby rooms!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

From the time of reserving room the staff was great! Our tv remote wouldnt work after settling in our room so we called down to the front desk and marilyn personally delivered the remote and made sure it was working for us! Everytime we asked for anything her and the rest of thr front desk staff were more than happy to get whatever we needed. However, the prices are ridiculous! Rooms are small and look like they need to be updated completely!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    134
    75
    57
    39
See reviews for
207
173
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This room was way too overpriced for such a basic room. Rather old and run down looking. The bathroom was very small. The housekeeping and staff were okay. The pool is super small. I would definitely not stay here again on account of the price for what you get. I would expect something a lot nicer for almost $400 a night. Only chose this hotel b/c it was a last minute vacation and everyone else was booked. Ocean front view was very nice though.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My family and I had a great time at this hotel, fantastic breakfast at the island pancake house. The rooms were great and in perfect condition. The front desk manager Allen was extremely helpful, he recommended a great restaurant in walking distance. We had a great time at this wonderful hotel right on the Gulf of Mexico.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN on the Beach, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for all of your wonderful feedback! So glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coal City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The entryway was rather plain. I was pleasantly surprised with the nice room, large oceanfront balcony, cleanliness, and location. We were within walking distance of souvenir shops and casual dining. There were free umbrellas, lounges, and matresses on the pristine beach. I thought the price for the room was competitive with the fancier chains on small beach area and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN on the Beach, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for all of your much appreciated and positive feedback! I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! So many of our guests comment on the comfort and convenience our property has to offer and am so happy we were able to exceed your expectations! Thank you again we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Best Western in Gulf Shores, the best service and fun anywhere. Rooms exceptional.
Thanks to the manager and all the staff. We enjoyed our stay, the area was fun and there was plenty to do. Just head up the road to Foley and the best shopping anywhere. Also, the beach is beautiful.

Room Tip: Beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN on the Beach, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for all of your much appreciated and positive feedback! I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure of your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was a great hotel for families traveling with kids. There is an indoor and an outdoor pool which is perfect for parents of small children. We could escape the sun in the middle of the day without going back to our room. The rooms were clean and the staff was nice. When I was a child, the waterfall on the outdoor pool worked, but now it does not. If you want fresh coffee with real cream in the mornings, you can walk down to the pancake restaurant in the lobby and get a cup for free.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN on the Beach, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you so much for all of your great feedback! I am thrilled to hear that from the sound of your review we have had the pleasure of two generations now in your family and we are honored! We strive to be a comfortable and friendly family beach hotel and am so glad we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Our family had a wonderful time! Staff was extremely helpful and friendly! Pancake restaurant was really good! Best of all my children got to see the sea turtle nest! The staff gave us a pamphlet of information on the turtles which was nice for the kids to learn and educate them. We had a great stay and everyone was very friendly to us!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN on the Beach, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for all of your much appreciated feedback! The sea turtles have been such a joy to host and witness all summer and am so glad your little ones enjoyed it! Thank you again and we hope to see you all again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Address: 337 East Beach Blvd., PO Box 481, Gulf Shores, AL 36547
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#5 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western On The Beach Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Best Western
Best Western Gulf Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.