We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN on the Beach to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
337 East Beach Blvd., PO Box 481, Gulf Shores, AL 36547   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Shelbyville, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was our first family vacation to the Gulf Shores area and we were a bit aprehensive of the Best Western Hotel "on the beach" ~ As it turns out... What a wonderful place for a family to hang out! The hotel was exactly as advertised with wonderful views of the beach and within walking distance of many local eateries and shops. The rooms were clean & comfortable and the kitchenette served us well...also our 3 boys enjoyed both the indoor and outdoor pools.The staff was very friendly and helpful with a special thank you to Allen who spent 30 minutes on the phone with us answering our many questions at time of booking our room and Heather at the front desk who was very willing to help and give us insight on the best spots to visit... Including the Island Pancake House within the hotel! This hotel was a great fit for our family and we had a wonderful trip and look forward to our next visit to Gulf Shores and our accomodations at the Best Western "On The Beach"

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN on the Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for all of your kind words! So many of our guests enjoy the convenience our property offers guests being centrally located in the heart of Gulf Shores. I am so happy to hear we were able to exceed your expectations and we hope for the pleasure of your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    125
    67
    54
    38
See reviews for
182
154
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Charles, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Fantastic hotel, directly on the beach. I would recommend this Best Western in Gulf Shores based on the location and the staff alone. When we arrived the staff was very friendly and helpful with information about local events and restaurants. Our room was neat and clean upon arrival and the housekeeping staff was thorough throughout our stay. The only downside, which was not that big of a deal, was parking. We plan to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN on the Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Of all the compliments, that is probably our favorite! Our staff works hard to make sure all our guest enjoy their stay and that we are able to exceed guest expectations. I am thrilled to hear we were able to accomplish that for you! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This place was great. My family and I made an unexpected stop here on a holiday weekend and we weren't disappointed. All we required was a room overlooking the beach. We got that and much more. We were greeted by lovely staff who went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. Marilyn went out of her way to accomodate my family with any requests we had. She truly is a gem. Because of the wonderful room with incredibly comfortable queen size beds, the amazing view overlooking the Gulf of Mexio, and the attentive staff, particularly Marilyn, we extended our overnight stay into another day. I'm so glad we did.

The room was clean and comfortable. The location of the hotel itself was very convenient. We were close to anything we wanted or needed. While we did not opt to have breakfast in the adjoining restaurant, the line of people waiting to get in lead me to believe it was quite good. The outdoor pool was clean and inviting. Early on our second day, while enjoying the view of the gulf from our balcony, we saw staff working hard to make sure it would stay clean, vacuuming any sand that had settled to the bottom of the pool.

Our family was very satisfied with our stay and will not hesitate to stay there again. In finding this hotel, we found our go to spot for the Alabama gulf.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN on the Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you first and foremost for all of your kind words and your patronage. You are truly a valued guest. We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! And it is my favorite feedback to hear that our staff went above and beyond to ensure you had a fabulous vacation with us! Thank you again we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

i went to Gulf shores on the 5th of July and since i was in Alabama on my mini vacation and it was only one night i wanted to stay on the beach, looking for an opening i stopped in Tammy greeted me and yes they had two rooms to be had i chose the one with the terrace over looking the ocean on the ground floor and i could not have been happier the room was clean and had a beach decore and was just a few steps from the beach and Tammy made sure i made the most of my stay she suggested the hot tub,pool, and assured me that it was very safe to go walking on the beach at night which i did all those things the pancake house is in the hotel and offers a view of the ocean while you dine Grace is a wonderful server and food is great i enjoyed my morning on the beach before checkout and Tammy greeted me when i checked out still happy and smiling i will be back and stay a little longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN on the Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for all of your much appreciated feedback! Tammy is a superstar front desk staff and I am so happy she was able to ensure you enjoyed your stay with us! Guest satisfaction and exceeding guest expectations is our number one priority! Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Ga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Perfect Location in the Heart of Gulf Shores. I have stayed here several times and I am always greeted warmly. The rooms are extremely comfortable and wonderfully decorated! The beds are so comfy you don't want to get up and the view from the room is spectacular. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to experience the beauty of the Gulf Coast!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel was a little dated on the outside but, clean on the inside. Tammy was very helpful during check in, Do wish they would have offered free Breakfast but other than that the stay was good. Nice view of Beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jax, fl
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We visited Gulf Shores for the week of July 4th and wanted some fun in the sun. We found what we were looking for at Best Western on the Beach. Yes...it's actually on the beach, like 10 steps from the hotel and you are on the beach. The best sugar sand and ice blue water you can find on the Gulf Coast. Room appeared recently updated and very nice. Great beds for a good nights rest. Parked our car at the hotel and never needed it. The Island Pancake House (the hotel restaurant) has a GREAT breakfast and serves lunch. For dinner, we had our choice of seafood restaurants in easy walking distance. We will be back to this hotel and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaside room. Wake up to a hundred mile view of the Gulf of Mexico.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Address: 337 East Beach Blvd., PO Box 481, Gulf Shores, AL 36547
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#5 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western On The Beach Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Best Western
Best Western Gulf Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.