We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute Find” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN on the Beach to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   337 East Beach Blvd., PO Box 481, Gulf Shores, AL 36547   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Last Minute Find”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

8 year old daughter and I drove over from Pensacola Beach FL to visit family that was staying in one of the many gorgeous high rise condos.We were not planning to stay the night but after spending a long day on the beach and going to dinner, I did not want to drive back to Pensacola.
I found Best Western 5 properties away from the condo.I almost missed it due to all the hi-rises.
The staff was super friendly and even gave us a discounted rate since it was 1 night and we were not able to take advantage of thier beach or pools.Expectations for the room was not high. After all, it is an older hotel and has been there for a very long time. The room had been updated with fresh paint and linens and suprised to see a stove along with a mid sized refridgerator. If traveling on a budget and not too many people per room, this would be an affordable place to stay and cook your own meals.That's to say if you dont mind an older hotel and not an upscale place.If you want more of a luxury place, look into the many vacation condo rentals that are offered but require a minimum of 3 nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    135
    79
    57
    39
See reviews for
211
177
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Springfield
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Have stayed here twice now, with the most recent last week. Prices for this hotel are too high for the amenities lacking. Shower/tub had issues and ice maker by the door was loud ALL night. BUT the proximity to the ocean and nightlife is wonderful. My child enjoyed the outdoor pool but not the indoor, too crowded usually. Bed was good this time, not the first though so glad to see they are trying to upgrade somewhat. Helpful service desk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN on the Beach, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for all of your feedback! We strive for customer satisfaction and always working to improve our guests vacation experiance. We appreciate and value all of your feedback and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston, Ga
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My family stayed for two nights here for a short beach trip with the kids. We loved the fact that they had multiple pools to choose from and that the hotel was directly on the beach. There is plenty to do right around the hotel. Shopping, attractions, eating. The attendants in the lobby were so helpful as well and offered us suggestions of things we could do that would best fit our family's interest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN on the Beach, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for all of your feedback! I am so glad that we were able to satisfy all of your vacation needs! We believe in personalized customer service, guest satisfaction is our number one goal! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

These people stole $329.00 from me. The reservation agent made the reservation for the wrong dates and charged me for her mistake. After admitting their mistake to not only me but my attorney as well they still kept the money. They did nothing to resolve the situation. So I paid for a hotel room I never stepped foot in. Do not stay at this hotel because obviously the customer does not come first. They steal your money without explanation!! The General Manager/Owner has yet to contact me and he refused my phone calls.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN on the Beach, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
First and foremost thank you for your reservation with us we certainly wished we would have had the pleasure of your patronage! Unfortunately it is our policy to charge the first night for reservations past our cancellation time frame (48 hours notice) Our front desk agent did not make a mistake in booking your reservation, the reservation was talked over, verified, and emailed in confirmation form. Our General Manager was/is still eager to go over any questions you may still have regarding your reservation, however since you contacted Best Western Customer Care and specifically asked to not be contacted by our General Manager it is per your request. If you would like for him to go over this with you feel free to contact us any time! Once again it is unfortunate that you were unable to stay with us, for if you did I am sure that you would have enjoyed your stay with us as so many of our guests do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton KY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Booked a last minute trip nonlinear thought we would get a room with a street view but to our surprise we got a wonderful view of the gulf. Everyone was helpful and friendly.

My only complaint is I thought the bed was way to soft. But that is just me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN on the Beach, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for all of your positive feedback! I am so happy to hear we were able to exceed your expectations! We hope to have the pleasure of your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doniphan, Missouri
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Do not stay here. I found out the locals drive/walk here to use Best Western's swimming pool, hot tubs, & beach. They also steal things out of vehicles & steal your shoes while you're on the beach. The staff doesn't seem to notice or care either. So why pay hundreds of dollars when you can use the facilities for FREE??? This place is an overpriced, run down joke.

P.S. Please get rid of that nasty old non-working waterfall!!!! It hasn't worked in YEARS & it is a huge eyesore.

Room Tip: Get a condo or stay at a classy hotel like Perdido Beach Resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN on the Beach, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for all of your feedback! It is surprising for me to hear about any sort of thievery for our security is constantly on patrol and nothing of the sort has been brought to our attention. Our security not only patrols the parking lot but our pools as well, constantly security checks are being administered to make sure our valued guests are able to enjoy our amenities. As so many of our guests do. Thank you again however for your valued input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattville, Alabama
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My experience with this hotel and its staff was and has continued to be horrific. I would not stay or advise anyone to ever stay here. I was quoted a price over the phone which I repeated back to the associate making my reservations. I then continued to give them my credit card information solely because of the price I was just quoted which locked my in for at least the first night. The price I was quoted was incorrect. The hotel smells, the sheets on the second bed in our room had what appeared to be chocolate on them, I asked for towels from one of the staff then was told they would be brought to me. they never were. altogether worst hotel stay I have ever experienced. I also asked to speak to the manager and one associate told me I could not. I continued to talk with her while she refused to put him on the phone unless I told her why I was calling. I hung up and called again. the second person (the person who was misleading to me while I made my reservations) informed me the manager was out and tried to argue with me about my reason for calling. This is not a good place to stay for many reasons.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan T, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN on the Beach, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
First and foremost thank you for all of your feedback! As your title suggests you were a guest with us on Memorial Day weekend, The kickoff to our summer, and one of the busiest weekends of the year. The price you were quoted, confirmed to both verbally and by email confirmation prior to your arrival, signed and initialed by yourself therefore understanding at the time of checkin, was not the $38 price you had informed our desk clerks should have been your rate for our beachfront hotel. We do value your patronage and value your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN on the Beach

Address: 337 East Beach Blvd., PO Box 481, Gulf Shores, AL 36547
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#4 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western On The Beach Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Best Western
Best Western Gulf Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.