We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3600 Gulf Shores Parkway, Gulf Shores, AL 36542   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Caruthersville, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Noisy Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed in the back building. We were upgraded to a room with a fridge and microwave (which you have to request when booking the rooms.) The elevator service record posted in the elevator was from 2011 (not comforting), wireless internet did not work the majority of the time, breakfast was cereal, muffins and juice and there was absolutely no place to sit and eat besides two little tables and a sofa with a coffee table, vending machines were a little pricey, pool was kinda dirty but mainly sand in the bottom because when people come back from the beach and get in the pool sand comes off. The walls are very, very thin. We could hear people in the rooms next to us shutting the closet doors and drawers and we could hear just about every sound that was made in the hallway. The water pressure wasn't great and the faucet in our room leaked anytime the people next to us would use the shower. The shower also took about 30 minutes to drain completely. Maid service was okay. We would come in from the beach around 2 or 3 to shower to go out to dinner and room service still hadn't made it around to bring us clean towels. Not too far from the beach just a little bit of traffic. Not a horrible place to stay if you are on a budget and booking at the last minute like we were but would definitely like to stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    157
    161
    77
    62
See reviews for
259
153
29
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Natchez, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Hotel has new carpet in rooms. Strange dark mirrors behind beds. No elevators. I have a pacemaker and I had to climb stairs. Service man was nice and installed new hair dryer promptly. No refrigerator in rooms. Coke machine only .75 cents. Pleasant stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We only stayed for two nights, so the small rooms did not brother us. We even had to spend a few hours in the room because if rain. Luckily, good movies were on showing on tv. The walls are a little thin, but mainly heard the slamming of doors, and little ones crying. The beach is less than 10 minutes away, so that was great. Do beaware that public beach parking is $5. Great stay, the breakfast is limited, but for the price I was very pleased. A good choice if you only stay a few days. I would want some more room if I planned for a longer trip.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenville al
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

OMG this place was awful. Micro it is. The rooms were very small, no fridg or microwave in room. Cont breakfast was warm milk, cereal, muffins, bad juice. Elevator stuck several times a day. Hallways hot, carpet dirty, rooms not clean, bathrooms nasty. You have to request your beds be changed and clean towels. Not to mention the pool that always had a foggy film in it. Yucky! And one last thing; the card keys work SOMETIMES to your room. My advise pay the additional $ and stay some where that is not as conservate!

Room Tip: Pay $ and go to a real hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Here from Wednesday thru Sunday for USSSA Baseball event. Have always enjoyed my stay at other Microtels. This one is terrible. Dirty Pool, intermentent internet service, lousy breakfast, dirty room; Maid didn't even make one of the beds one day. Asked for extended checkout time on Sunday and they want to charge $15. Price for a Microtel is outrageous, Three weeks ago I stayed in Bremen, Ga for $29/night. Here it was $127.99/night. Bremen has hot breakfast, Gulf Shores, cold cereal and muffins. I'll never stay her again and wouldn't receoomend this hotel to any of my friends traveling to Gulf Shores.

Oh yes, access to the main road is a hassle with major traffic and no traffic light.

Room Tip: Another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatsworth, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Good location away from crowds...just minutes from beach...only complaint, complimentary breakfast consists of cereal, toast, Little Debbies and very small area to eat in, guess thats why its called "Micro"tel...Overall, great place, no problems.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, TN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We have stayed at this Microtel several times. The main building has not been updated, however the detached building is much newer built within the last few years. If you have a choice, request the detached building. We always love the Microtel. You get a fabulous deal for the money you spend. The beds are comfortable with clean linens. Each morning you get a decent continental breakfast with muffins, cereal, toast, bagels, juice and milk. They have a coin-operated laundry facility in the detached building as well as a small workout room. They have a pool as well. As far as location goes, you are a short ride to the beach as well as a short ride to restaurants and shopping. You are close to Foley, AL where the Tanger outlet malls are. We enjoyed our stay here and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. If you are expecting a fancy hotel don't stay here. If you want a clean, comfortable, affordable place to stay this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores

Address: 3600 Gulf Shores Parkway, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Microtel Inn & Suites Gulf Shores, Alabama. With our beautiful ‘sugar white’ beaches and emerald green waters just 3 miles to the south we are conveniently located on Highway 59. This allows us easy access to both Interstate’s I-10 and I-65 and major metropolitan cities, Mobile and Pensacola. Situated in the heart of uptown Gulf Shores, you will find us adjacent to Colonial Pinnacle’s new shopping & dining development and Craft Farms award-winning Arnold Palmer signature golf courses & spa. World famous Lucy Buffett’s Lulu’s is just down the road, where live music, good food and panoramic marina views allow you to sample some of our unpretentious deep-south culture.With 64 brand new rooms and suites opened in 2008 we are the premiere choice for high quality budget accommodations in Gulf Shores. Add to that our new meeting and fitness rooms, renovated outdoor pool, free continental breakfast, WiFi and local and long distance calls (within the continental US) and you will start to wonder how we keep our prices so low! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Gulf Shores
Microtel Hotel Gulf Shores
Gulf Shores Microtel Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Gulf Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.