We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic with few amenities” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Hearth Inn Gulf Shores

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Country Hearth Inn Gulf Shores to your Saves list
Country Hearth Inn Gulf Shores
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3025 W First Street, Gulf Shores, AL 36542   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Montgomery, Alabama
2 reviews
“Basic with few amenities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

We stayed at this hotel on a Thursday and Friday night just prior to the summer season. The room was clean but that's all it was. There were no amenities provided...no pool, no morning coffee or brunch, not even any coffee makings in the room even though there was a coffee maker provided. The room had a small fridge and a small microwave, but had no extra blankets, only one towel per person was provided, and we had to ask to have the toilet paper roll replaced. The outdoor ice machine ran out of ice very early on Thursday evening. The room smelled very musty on check in, but got better once the a/c ran for a little while. We did not have the option of either having the sheets changed or left as is...they simply made the bed with the used sheets on it. The only reason we stayed two nights is absolutely nothing else was available the second night. I would not stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Absolutely no amenities whatsoever
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    5
    9
    27
See reviews for
20
14
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
monroeville, alabama
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2008

Looks can be deceiving on this place, from the outside it looks like a lovely hotel. We ended up getting a room on the back side of the hotel in which the parking area has little light. Upon first checking in we entered the room and found the air conditioner would not work and complained to the front desk we were sent back to the room with a pencil and directions on how we could remove the front cover and stick that pencil in a small hole to flip a switch that would make the air work continuously. So after we cleared that hurdle we then learned that our shower did not work either, by this time we were so disgusted that we didn't even bring it to their attention because we didn't feel like having to work on our own shower too. Needless to say we only stayed one night and will never stay there again. So beware !!! If anything in this place is broken you must fix it yourself.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — Having to fix an airconditioner with a pencil-- taking a chance on getting electricuted in the process.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2008

Our room had a regular size refrigerator, a small dorm style refrigerator, a microwave, and two stove eye burners. Check in was a pleasant experience, but trying to check out wasn't. The office did not open until 8 a.m. for check out. Our room had double beds (no king available upon checking in). The beds were not the most comfortable in the world. One of the beds had sheets that did not look very clean and had some dark hairs on the pillows. There were no wash cloths, but plenty of towels and hand towels. The refrigerators and the microwave were clean. The bath tub has a large plaster spot, looked like a fairly new repair.

  • Liked — across the main highway from Lulu's Restaurant
  • Disliked — Unclean bed and bathroom
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

I really had a great experience at this hotel. The rooms and beds are new and extremely comfortable. The Staff were courteous and helpful. The rates were reasonable and the beaches and fun things to do are close and convenient. I would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to staying here again.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Hearth Inn Gulf Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Hearth Inn Gulf Shores

Address: 3025 W First Street, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Hearth Inn Gulf Shores 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Hearth Inn Gulf Shores is a limited service hotel featuring clean, affordable, and centrally located rooms. We feature both standard and kitchenette rooms. The kitchenette rooms feature a two burner stove, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. The bed types are Queen, King, and Double+Double. Each room is cleaned daily and with a smile. The beds are by Serta and the A/C is cold. We have limited WIFI access for free to guests and fax services. In addition, we have recently began changing our televisions to flat screens and are more than 50% complete. The property is easily accessed from Hwy 59 in Gulf Shores, well groomed, 1.5 miles from the Gulf Shores beaches and around the corner from LuLu's at Homeport Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Country Hearth Inn Gulf Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hearth Inn Gulf Shores Hotel Gulf Shores
Country Hearth Gulf Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Hearth Inn Gulf Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.