We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is good nothing else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Beachside Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Beachside Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Beachside Resort Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   610 West Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542 (Formerly Ramada Limited)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Beaver Dam, Kentucky
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Location is good nothing else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I usually do not give negative reviews, but could not let this go by. You get what you pay for. This is an economy hotel and if you did not pay economy price you paid way to much. The ONLY plus to this place us the location and that is it. The room was clean upon arrival and they did keep us in towels, but they must not have the staff daily to keep the the area clean. We would see towels left at the pool area and near the elevator that were not picked up. Granted people should not have left them but they did. The Mexican bar and grill was only open the first night we were in Gulf Shore it was closed after that. If you are not a needy person and you go about your own business as we did it is OKAY. But I would highly recommended going someplace else.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachsideresorthotel, Webmaster at Beachside Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments about our well-located hotel. I sincerely apologize that we didn’t live up to your expectations in some ways. We’re aware that the quality of our service lapsed for some time, but we’re back on track now and providing a better guest experience than ever before. I hope we can serve you again soon. You’ll find a much more pleasant experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    45
    43
    39
    82
See reviews for
83
52
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Booked this hotel for a last minute trip to Gulf Shores in July with family. Arrived to the hotel around 4:00pm. Location is right across the street from the beach, which was very convenient. Check in was easy and fast. The room was decent, but very over-priced. (Paid $180 a night) There was sand on the tile floors when we arrived, but we understood with being so close to the beach, it must be extremely difficult to get every grain of sand out of the room. Very large sized flat screen TV mounted on the wall. (Very nice touch). Beds were very comfortable. Wi-Fi did not work very well on the 4th floor. Breakfast in the restaurant was awful. We traveled with 3 children. One of the kids was still sleeping, so we planned on grabbing him a plate and taking it back to the room, but they had a sign posted saying "Not allowed to take food back to room". Does not make any sense! They should really be ashamed of the breakfast, being that it comes from the attached restaurant. We probably will choose a condo to stay in for our next trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Average room, It was clean when we got there, but through the week they only did minor cleaning, we had to pile the sheets in the floor to get them to change them because of the amount of sand in them from just sitting on the beds before our showers. There were 4 of us and they would only leave 2 washcloth's every day, had to go to the desk daily and ask for more. The floors were not swept very well, but overall it's kind of expected for a beach hotel. Location is not beach side, but it is only across the street from the beach, road was not too bad to cross even during busy times. Breakfast was not worth going down stairs for. Cereal, muffins, biscuits and gravy and eggs - No meat of any kind - coffee and juice and the staff (one person) sat and played on her cell phone instead of watching the food to see if anything was needed. So skip breakfast. Staff at the main desk were helpful and pleasant. For the price $140/night that close to the beach it was not a bad stay, but I think if I had started looking earlier I could have found something better.

Room Tip: Dont' stay on the 3rd Floor, it has the pool on it, and there is constant traffic all day. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachsideresorthotel, Webmaster at Beachside Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kind comments. I’m glad your stay with us was pleasant overall. I sincerely apologize for any lapses that detracted from the quality of your stay. We’ve made some changes to improve the guest experience, and I hope when you return to Gulf Shores you’ll give us another try. You’ll find an improved guest experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This was by far the WORST HOTEL I HAVE EVER BEEN TOO! We checked in this passed Friday night after spending all day Friday on the beach. We woke up to our room flooded with water. All of our clothes were wet, all of our beach towels, everything. My daughter had nothing to wear. I stayed at this hotel by the way at the rate of $299 per night, and also the hotel is NOT BEACHSIDE. Which is not in anyway convenient with children. I go downstairs, furious bc of our room being flooded from the rain the night before. The rain had somehow came in under the door. The manager told me it was not his fault that it rained, and that he would refund me 30% of my stay for the first night! I spent half of the next day drying and washing clothes. My kids were miserable, I was miserable, stressed, furious, and I felt like I had been taken advantage of! The facility is not clean, the rooms are not clean, the pool is very small and crowded. Whoever the people are running this place are doing a horrible job, and you can get better service at the Super 8! And probably a cheaper rate! I am still so terribly upset about my stay, and assure you! Me or anyone I know going to Gulf Shores, WILL NOT BE STAYING HERE!

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel other than this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachsideresorthotel, Webmaster at Beachside Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thanks for commenting. I apologize for the problems caused by the violent rainstorm. We’ve take action to prevent this from happening in the future. I also apologize for any other lapses or concerns you have. We’ve made many changes aimed at providing the best possible guest experience, and I hope you’ll give us another try in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Hotel did not meet expectations for the price we paid. Staff was not friendly. Toilet was not attached to the floor. Room and bathroom was not cleaned. Someone else's hair was various places. This would've been a $40 hotel anywhere else. We are disappointed that we spent our vacation money on it and could've stayed elsewhere for same price! :( Thankfully, we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachsideresorthotel, Webmaster at Beachside Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thanks for commenting. I’m sorry you had a disappointing experience at our Gulf Shores hotel. We take providing a great guest experience very seriously and have significantly upgraded the hotel to better meet guest needs in the future. I hope you will give us another chance to satisfy you. We’ll do better for you next time.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Like the title said, this is NOT a high end hotel. It's about half the price of surrounding hotels and right across the road from the beach, so it was ok. We weren't expecting a luxury experience (and we didn't get it) but it was a decent place to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Check in time is 3pm, but of course the workers in front kept saying my room would be available in 20 minutes. I eventually told them I would clean the room myself because I was not going to wait any longer. They could have cared less how long people were waiting for their rooms. I was not the only person after 3pm waiting for their room to be ready. We also asked for extra towels since we had 4 people and only 4 towels. The maid said to check with someone else, even though she had clean ones on her cart. The breakfast is a joke and the eggs were terrible. The only plus is they allow animals and it is right across the street from the beach.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view. Of course we requested one one month prior, but I guess they don't care.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachsideresorthotel, Webmaster at Beachside Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments about our pet-friendly hotel near the beach. I apologize that some guest service lapses and problems with our housekeeping staff were among the issues that detracted from your stay with us. Since that time, we’ve made significant changes to every aspect of the hotel, and I hope you will give us another chance to satisfy you soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Beachside Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Resort Hotel

Address: 610 West Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542 (Formerly Ramada Limited)
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachside Resort Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Resort Hotel - Gulf Shores, AL is conveniently located along Alabama's beautiful white sandy beaches. In addition to the white sandy beaches along the Gulf of Mexico many area attractions are only minutes away, including Waterville Water Park, Gulf Coast Animal Zoo, Tanger Outlet and many more. Our famous third-floor outdoor pool overlooks the Gulf of Mexico. Room amenities include: micro/fridge, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryers and 27" color TV with free HBO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Beachside Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Hotel Gulf Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachside Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.