We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad value, worst service...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Beachside Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Beachside Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beachside Resort Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   610 West Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542 (Formerly Ramada Limited)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in Gulf Shores
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad value, worst service...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We called the wrong number to book a room and when we realized our mistake 20 minutes later, they wouldn't let us cancel our reservation. So...since we had spent $170+ for one night in this dump, we went anyway. The place is older, though there are renovation supplies everywhere. Our room was not nearly clean enough and our bed was broken. When we contacted the front desk, they didn't seem to care. Also, about the breakfast, the adjacent restaurant you get a voucher for was so nasty, we passed. Just a heads up!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    33
    35
    34
    69
See reviews for
62
42
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was the worst place ever! Stayed with my girlfriend on Memorial Weekend. Floor was so wet the carpet squished when we walked on it and it stank. Complained and received no service. Went back and complained again and this time they came up with towels and tried to mop up as much as possible and left fan running, assuring us that it would be dry in a couple of hours. MANY hours later, upon returning to our room, the floor was still soaked. We turned off the fan to sleep, being careful not to trip on the cord that ran across the floor. Still wet the next day, which was our depart date. They did give us a discount, but it wasn't nearly enough. The second night my friend found a dead bug in her bed! A big black one! When we complained, we were met with disinterest and figured that it was so common it just didn't matter anymore! HAPPY TO LEAVE!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Upon our arrival I found the hotel to be as expected, older and budget. It was accross the street from the beach, but the access was easy. It was a bit irritating at check in as a child was playing behind the counter and distracting. The first room we were placed into was a majoy disappointment. While supposed to be non-smoking, it clearly wasn't. Being a person who suffers migraines, I immediately requested a different room. They were most helpful and I could have asked for a better second room. We were on the top floor, middle of the way and enjoyed the view which included the beach and the pool. It was close enough to walk to the hangout and easy exit to other locations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Beachside is NOT on the beach, nor does it have its own access to the beach. Our first room neither the air conditioning nor the refrigerator worked. The second room featured sandy floors, peeling paint and very hard mattresses. When I went downstairs looking for the nonexistent ice machine, the lobby was under water from an over flowing toilet. We paid $89, I think you can find a much better place.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This place possesses an amazing value, with outstanding customer service. Each and every person that we encountered at the front desk was respectful, courteous, and informative. The maintenance personnel was awesome as well, and they were very expedient in handling our personal needs. We had an issue with the water heat that our shower was producing, and we had an issue with our television....both problems were solved almost immediately.
Thank you for a nice price, a great mattress, an amazingly clean room, outstanding service, and an awesome breakfast as well.
This facility also offers Military Discounts. Thank you so much to your entire staff, Thank you Beachside Resort Hotel for an amazing Honeymoon in Gulfshores, Alabama.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachsideresorthotel, General Manager at Beachside Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your valuable time reviewing our Hotel and staff. We always strive hard to make that our guests stay is Pleasant and Memorable while in gulf Shores, AL.
Our Guests rely on comments like yours to make their decision in selecting their Lodging needs.
We hope to serve you again on your next visit to the Gulf Shores, AL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I were looking forward to spending a few days away for our 1st anniversary and ended up checking in and out within 15 min. We had to step through a dirty mud puddle to get into the elevator. Got to our room to find 2 large puddles on the floor (by toilet and from under the couch), ashes all over the bathroom, paint peeling off the walls, moldy windows, dirty comforter, missing items, etc. etc. To say the least, there was no way I could stay in that bed overnight or sit at the run-down bar outside. The front desk even suggested we use our own bath towels to clean up the puddles ourselves since maintenance wouldn't be available. The front desk didn't seem at all shocked when we came back down and asked for our money back. They handed it over without even asking if there was anything they could do to change our minds... Not a great way to celebrate your anniversary. Very disappointed and feel foolish for falling for their pictures online.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upnorth Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

When we booked this hotel we were aware that it was spring break, however, when we found lots of beer cans all around our car and the parking lot, throw-up in the stairways, etc. in the morning, the staff just replied - "well, it is spring break." The hotel could be a first class operation, but apparently they really do not care. The room was large and adequate and the location good. The lobby wasn't maintained and loaded with boxes. No coffee pots in the rooms, received a telephone scam, and the staff wasn't very friendly. All in all - we would never stay there again. Guess the price ($89/night) should have been my first clue. If you need a place to stay where you can be dis-respectful - then this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachsideresorthotel, General Manager at Beachside Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear guest,
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointing during your stay. however as you mentioned about the Spring Breakers, we have adequate security and staff to cater to the Hotel operations. Also, I wish if you had given us an opportunity to fix the problems faced by you, Our dedicated staff would have resolved it right away.
I promise you that necessary steps have been taken about your concerns, and that we hope to be of service to you on your next visit to the Beautiful Gulf Shores, AL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beachside Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Resort Hotel

Address: 610 West Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542 (Formerly Ramada Limited)
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 hotels in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachside Resort Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Resort Hotel - Gulf Shores, AL is conveniently located along Alabama's beautiful white sandy beaches. In addition to the white sandy beaches along the Gulf of Mexico many area attractions are only minutes away, including Waterville Water Park, Gulf Coast Animal Zoo, Tanger Outlet and many more. Our famous third-floor outdoor pool overlooks the Gulf of Mexico. Room amenities include: micro/fridge, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryers and 27" color TV with free HBO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Beachside Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Hotel Gulf Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachside Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.