We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down and in need of a good cleaning” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Beachside Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Beachside Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Beachside Resort Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   610 West Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542 (Formerly Ramada Limited)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Montgomery, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Run down and in need of a good cleaning”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Beachside is NOT on the beach, nor does it have its own access to the beach. Our first room neither the air conditioning nor the refrigerator worked. The second room featured sandy floors, peeling paint and very hard mattresses. When I went downstairs looking for the nonexistent ice machine, the lobby was under water from an over flowing toilet. We paid $89, I think you can find a much better place.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    36
    36
    38
    73
See reviews for
68
46
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This place possesses an amazing value, with outstanding customer service. Each and every person that we encountered at the front desk was respectful, courteous, and informative. The maintenance personnel was awesome as well, and they were very expedient in handling our personal needs. We had an issue with the water heat that our shower was producing, and we had an issue with our television....both problems were solved almost immediately.
Thank you for a nice price, a great mattress, an amazingly clean room, outstanding service, and an awesome breakfast as well.
This facility also offers Military Discounts. Thank you so much to your entire staff, Thank you Beachside Resort Hotel for an amazing Honeymoon in Gulfshores, Alabama.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachsideresorthotel, General Manager at Beachside Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your valuable time reviewing our Hotel and staff. We always strive hard to make that our guests stay is Pleasant and Memorable while in gulf Shores, AL.
Our Guests rely on comments like yours to make their decision in selecting their Lodging needs.
We hope to serve you again on your next visit to the Gulf Shores, AL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I were looking forward to spending a few days away for our 1st anniversary and ended up checking in and out within 15 min. We had to step through a dirty mud puddle to get into the elevator. Got to our room to find 2 large puddles on the floor (by toilet and from under the couch), ashes all over the bathroom, paint peeling off the walls, moldy windows, dirty comforter, missing items, etc. etc. To say the least, there was no way I could stay in that bed overnight or sit at the run-down bar outside. The front desk even suggested we use our own bath towels to clean up the puddles ourselves since maintenance wouldn't be available. The front desk didn't seem at all shocked when we came back down and asked for our money back. They handed it over without even asking if there was anything they could do to change our minds... Not a great way to celebrate your anniversary. Very disappointed and feel foolish for falling for their pictures online.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upnorth Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

When we booked this hotel we were aware that it was spring break, however, when we found lots of beer cans all around our car and the parking lot, throw-up in the stairways, etc. in the morning, the staff just replied - "well, it is spring break." The hotel could be a first class operation, but apparently they really do not care. The room was large and adequate and the location good. The lobby wasn't maintained and loaded with boxes. No coffee pots in the rooms, received a telephone scam, and the staff wasn't very friendly. All in all - we would never stay there again. Guess the price ($89/night) should have been my first clue. If you need a place to stay where you can be dis-respectful - then this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachsideresorthotel, General Manager at Beachside Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear guest,
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointing during your stay. however as you mentioned about the Spring Breakers, we have adequate security and staff to cater to the Hotel operations. Also, I wish if you had given us an opportunity to fix the problems faced by you, Our dedicated staff would have resolved it right away.
I promise you that necessary steps have been taken about your concerns, and that we hope to be of service to you on your next visit to the Beautiful Gulf Shores, AL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

The proximity to the beach is wonderful. I expected a little more since it is located in a tourist hot spot. The room was very clean, but smelled of cigar smoke. The bathroom looked to have been completely renovated. I think the little restaurant was great...good Mexican food. I feel if they would change the room decor and add air freshners it would be a really wonderful place. It has great potential.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachsideresorthotel, General Manager at Beachside Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Beachside Resort Hotel for your Lodging needs in Gulf Shores, AL.
We wish to inform you that we are in the process of a major Renovation to all our Guest rooms, and promise to provide you better guest experience in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham Springs, Louisiana, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The staff was kind and helpful but the hotel itself is another story. I got a non smoking room that smelled like someone smaoked a whole pack in it. There are no ice makers at all at the hotel. And the final straw was when I went to take a shower, it looks like they are recycling and refilling the small shampoo bottles. I will never be returning. To many other hotels that do have ice makers, rooms that DONT smell, and spend money on ther little things.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachsideresorthotel, General Manager at Beachside Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Guest,Please accept our apologies for the issues you had during your stay. We are very strict about maintaining our non-smoking rooms. And we do not recycle any guest amenities. They are manufacturers packing, and we do not tamper with it.
I am sorry that you felt it that way, but we guarantee our quality of accommodation. If we get another opportunity to serve you, we may be able to change your perspective towards our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaVergne, Tennessee
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 days at the Beachside Resort Hotel, in Gulf Shores, Alabama
beginning December 26th, 2012. Since we were staying "off-season" I guess, the rate was a very reasonable $59.00. Other condos in the area were priced around $159.

When we checked in we were greated by a very friendly Brad Jones, who was helpful in getting us checked in. Since so many people are concerned about the presence of bed bugs, I asked Brad if he would allow us to see the room first. He most graciously allowed and took us up to see the room. I pulled back the covers all the way, and found absolutely no trace of bedbugs.
I had requested a view of the beach, and though a small view, we did have one. The state of Alabama, I guess, was dredging sand from the Hurricane Katrina debackle. But all I had asked for was to be able to see the beach, and I could!

As soon as we checked in Brad informed us of a small problem witht the hot water in the rooms, but come to find that all you had to do was run the water for a couple of minutes and the water was as hot as you would ever want it.

A coffee pot in the room would have been a nice touch. We brought our own but could have saved the trouble and space in the car if one was provided.

The bed was a king size and so very comfortable.

We awoke to get our "FREE BREAKFAST" at the Tequila Bar & Grill, which was right below our room. We were served very good pancakes and biscuits/gravy. (wonderful for Tennessee folks).
The pancakes were so good, according to my wife, that I had them for the next three days. My compliments to Lee, the chef, as they were so very light, fluffy and delicious. If we could suggest the free breakfast to include more than coffee and water. Some juice and milk would be nice. Children and/or older folks may need another choice as caffeine is not good for them. We did like the cooperation between the restaurant and the resort. All in all, the Mexican food was delicious. It was nice to have a restaurant so close to the resort, as the weather was cold and breezy!

We spent 4 nights there. By the time we left, both Brad and Lee were begging us to stay, and we were tempted. The friendly atmosphere they presented was worth more than money can buy.

Brad suggested several activities and entertainment spots. His judgement was good as to what we would enjoy, including riding the ferry, driving to Mobile and visiting the local forts. He knew about several antique shops over in Pensacola, FL. We fell in love with them and found a couple of good purchases.

In summary we would visit again to see the beautiful white sand beaches and enjoy the resort hospitality. We were told of many renovations, including new windows. Our room, 411, had moisture inside the double panes so this really does need attention.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beachside Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachside Resort Hotel

Address: 610 West Beach Blvd, Gulf Shores, AL 36542 (Formerly Ramada Limited)
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Beachside Resort Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachside Resort Hotel - Gulf Shores, AL is conveniently located along Alabama's beautiful white sandy beaches. In addition to the white sandy beaches along the Gulf of Mexico many area attractions are only minutes away, including Waterville Water Park, Gulf Coast Animal Zoo, Tanger Outlet and many more. Our famous third-floor outdoor pool overlooks the Gulf of Mexico. Room amenities include: micro/fridge, coffee maker, iron/ironing board, hairdryers and 27" color TV with free HBO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beachside Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachside Hotel Gulf Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachside Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.