We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in all a Very Nice Resort.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Martinique on the Gulf

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Martinique on the Gulf
Save
You added Martinique on the Gulf to your Saves list
987 Boulevard Martinique, Gulf Shores, AL 36542   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Katy
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“All in all a Very Nice Resort.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is a beautiful property, great white sandy beaches and well kept grounds. Both houses (that come with golf carts) and condos are available. We stayed in a very nice 3 bedroom condo with easy access to the beach. The condo was attractive and nicely furnished. We did have to buy our own bathroom tissue, garbage bags, soap, shampoo, seasonings, coffee etc, which was a bit of an inconvenience. Also, getting through Foley to the beach (and back) on the weekends is a MILES long traffic jam so beware of that. All things considered this is a very nice resort.

Room Tip: Be sure you face (or are close to) the gulf and not the bay. Corner condos on the upper floor are qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinique R, Manager at Martinique on the Gulf, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We appreciate the time you took to write a review of Martinique on the Gulf and are thankful for the all the feedback we receive from our guests.We always provide an initial supply of toiletries, liquid and paper items for convenience to start your vacation. We are glad you enjoyed your vacation to Gulf and would love the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future! We will make every effort to exceed your expectations on future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
36
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spicewood, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

For as much money as we paid, only one roll of toilet paper per bathroom for one week. Shame on you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinique R, Manager at Martinique on the Gulf, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
We appreciate the time you took to provide a review of Martinique on the Gulf. We are thankful for the comments and feedback from our guests. We always provide an initial supply of toiletries, detergent, dish washing liquid and paper items for the convenience of our guests. We hope you still enjoyed your vacation to Gulf Shores and would appreciate the opportunity to accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed in 302 W a gulf front 2 bedroom condo.
We were there for a week from June 24 - July 1. Our experience with the condo and the community was for the most part very positive.
Because this community is outside of Gulf Shores in Fort Morgan it can seem very remote. It is a 15 - 20 minute drive into Gulf Shores and there is really not much in the way of restaurants or activities in the immediate area. However if you are looking for an uncrowded beach and a quite vacation then this is the place for you.
The community is located right next to Bon Secour Wildlife refuge. This means that there is a huge stretch of beach that is totally secluded. The beach in front of the community is not even that crowded since on the left is the park and on the right are single family beach homes.
We did have tropical storm Betty to deal with during our first few days but she blew by and did not cause any major issues. The only major issue we did have was at the end of Betty, Monday and Tuesday there were biting flies on the beach. This flies were horrible. You could not get rid of them and being any where on the beach out of the water was a nightmare. Luckily these flies are affected by the wind. If the wind is off the dunes then you have a problem, but if the wind is from the gulf then it blows the flies away and no more problem. The wind changed on Wednesday and we had no more issues with the flies.
The community has two pools which were average pools.
There is no restaurant in the community and nothing that I would recommend close by so you will be cooking your self or going into Gulf Shores to eat.
Our condo unit was very nice, we had 6 people in the unit three adults (including my mother) and three kids. Everyone was confortable and our condo unit was well appointed. These are individual owner owned units so look very carefully at the pictures and descriptions on the website. We rented directly from http://www.martinique-gulf.com/.
I think we will be back to this place again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

We rented from Meyer, what was supposed to be a large condo in excellent shape. Clearly, this place was shot with a wide angle lense. Dark, long hair on every towel, bathtubs spewing mold from the jets or leaking so they held water for 2 minutes, no working ice maker and calls for service ignored (oh someone will be there today and no one came), rotted patio furniture with bottoms of legs missing so unable to sit on it, no cable, etc. We will never rent a unit from Meyer again since they clearly don't keep them up!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinique R, Manager at Martinique on the Gulf, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
We appreciate the time you took to share your review of Martinique on the Gulf. We are thankful for feedback, comments and suggestions from guests staying with us. The management of the resort takes your concerns very seriously as quality is a priority for us at Martinique. As to the individual furnishings and appliances of each unit, we will work with the individual owner to make necessary improvements to the unit. We would appreciate the opportunity to accommodate you on your next visit to Gulf Shores and request that you contact Aronov Resort Management to book your stay at (877) 648-6405. When booking onsite, we take care of all our guests needs and ensure proper cleaning with each condo or home when you call Aronov Resort Management to book your stay at (877) 648-6405.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed at Aloha Dream in early May 2012. The property was easy to find and the resort is located about 20 minutes away from Gulf Shores Parkway. The resort was very quiet during the time we stayed. The people that we did see were very friendly. The house is set about a 5 min ride in a golf cart (which comes with the house) from the Gulf of Mexico.

Aloha dream is very spacious and has a lovely modern homely feel without being cluttered. The interior was very comfortable and had all the amenities you could want from a holiday home and more. The golf cart that was with the property was great for riding to the beach. We also had use of bikes and general beach equipment like umbrellas and chairs. The beach area was clean and quiet while we were there. We also had use of 2 pools on the resort which were also quiet during the time of our stay.

The owners had an information book that listed local restaurants. We had a fabulous meal at a restaurant called King Neptunes which was located on Gulf Shores Parkway near our turnoff. We did not find any restaurants that delivered as the house is not within delivery range. That being said its only about 10 miles away from any restaurant. The nearest convenience store is about a 5 min bike ride or couple of mins car ride from the house. There is also a Chevron gas station and Dollar General store about halfway between the house and the main interstate (10 mins).

The owners were very helpful and answered any questions prior to and during our stay. The photos on the HomeAway website do not do this home justice. Its such a nice home. We would definitely recommend this as a fabulous place to stay and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amory, Mississippi
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here many times & definetly my favorite! Been there with family of 16, friend groups of 12, & couple groups of 8. Beach is wonderful. The 2 pools are great, especially the beach pool. Tennis courts are used. It is also great for walking, riding bikes, & riding on provided golf cart. Promise you will like it!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This was our first trip to Gulf Shores and it was a very pleasant surprise. We stayed in a 3rd floor condos - well maintained and a beautiful view of the beach. We considered staying in one of the homes, but then you are not right on the water. There was a fair amount of landscaping, painting, etc. going on at the resort, so it seems they are doing a nice job of keeping up the property. The beach is gorgeous - a very wide expanse of super fine white sand. Being next to the Bon Secour park meant there was always a patch of beach you could have to yourself (even though it was Spring Break week) and you could walk for miles in either direction. You can rent chairs and umbrellas right on the beach. Great sand bars right out front, so perfect for kids and just enough waves for boogie boarding. The pool by the beach is huge, but was not very warm and could use more chairs (although the chairs they have are very nice with great cushions on them). The only thing that's missing is food - we were surprised they didn't have a pool bar/grill at the pool on the beach. There seems to be the space and facilities for it, but you can't get anything to eat at Martinique - it would be a huge plus. So, we drove a mile down the road to the next resort a couple times where they have a restaurant, ice cream place, and there is a convenience store. Martinique is about 10 miles down the road from downtown Gulf Shores. The road into town is very fast (55mph) so you can get to restaurants, grocery store, etc. pretty quickly. We like the seclusion of it - less crowds - but it's may not be for everyone.

Room Tip: If you want to see the beach and the gulf from your place, you need to stay in the condo buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martinique on the Gulf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinique on the Gulf

Address: 987 Boulevard Martinique, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Gulf Shores
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Vacation Village, A Perfect Escape. Martinique on the Gulf offers luxurious private homes and majestic low rise condominiums for the perfect beach vacation. Perfectly situated on Ft. Morgan Road in Gulf Shores, AL and adjacent to the 4,200 acre Bon Secour Wildlife Refuge, Martinique on the Gulf offers sophisticated seclusion unrivaled by any resort on the Gulf Coast. Enjoy an abundance of amenities along with the seemingly endless stretch of sugar white beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Martinique On The Gulf Hotel Gulf Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martinique on the Gulf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.