We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best campground in the world!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf State Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf State Park
22050 Campground Rd., Gulf Shores, AL 36542   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“The best campground in the world!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We are campground veterans....we
travel by motorhome frequently. Can sincerely say that this is one of the nicest campgrounds we have ever stayed with.
Everything is spotless clean (laundry, pool, store, sites, etc).
Just up the road from a wonderful white-sand beach, nestled close to 2 lakes and a canal, the campsites offer super views, and plenty of room on the sites to feel unencumbered.
We give the facility our highest recommendation, and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    12
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
36
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed in the lakeside cabins. It was awesome. Very close to the beach pavillion. It is also close to several good restaurants. The cabin was very spacious and clean. There was a very nice screened in porch and you could walk to a little fishing pier on the lake.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My family and I spent three nights in one of the park's 2 bedroom lakeside cabins. The cabin was nothing fancy but it provided plenty of room for our family of 5. The bedrooms were not huge but had a double bed, dresser, and closet space. Bed linens/pillows/towels/washclothes are furnished. The kitchen included pots/pans/dishes/silverware. It is advisable to bring bath soap and shampoo if you will be staying more than a day. Also, you would need to provide your own dishwashing soap and paper towels. There is a small eating area in the kitchen (table/4 chairs) and a bar area with two barstools. Coffee pot and microwave are also included (no dishwasher). The living area had a sofa and one chair. The unit had TV with Direct TV service. Our favorite area of the cabin was the screened in porch that had a great view of the lake and fishing pier. I would recommend that you bring a fan to be used on the screened porch. The porch does not have a ceiling fan so it can be quite hot during the day. The park offers hiking trails, informative nature programs, a swimming pool and is a short drive (about 5 minutes) to direct beach access. If you just have to have a beach view, this place is not for you. The nightly rate for this two bedroom cabin was signifcantly less that a single hotel room on the beach. For the family friendly accomodations in a quiet park setting and for the price versus the beachfront hotel, I would recommend checking it out. The Alabama State Park system has a website that provides costs, amenities, and pictures.

Room Tip: When booking these cabins, it is important to keep in mind that these are campground cabins and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile Al
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Has gotten terrible over the last 2 years, No one answers the phone, campground is always totally full or reserved even when there are a large number of sites open daily and Water or Lake sites are terribly overgrown to the point of not even being able to see the Lake on a Lake site. But they charge you more to stay on that site.I think I will just stick with Wind Creek or Oak MountainState Parks. A little more of a drive but worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Nice campground. Absolutely no shade trees. Sites are very close together. I don't recommend anyone staying on 85-95 on bobcat trail because you will be camping next to the trash dumpsters and I don't recommend anyone paying the extra fee to stay right on the lake. The edges of the lake have overground bushes and catails wish makes viewing or fishing impossible. Now the good parts. The campground is staffed 24/7. They have a nice store for last minute items. And they have the nices state owned swimming pool I've ever seen. I can't say enough good things about the pool it was the highlight of the campground. And of course the beach is only a short drive away. Overall a nice place to stay but expensive camping fees. With fuel cost and camping fees we could have stayed in a condo cheaper

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We've stayed at Gulf State Park for years! Why in the world people would spend $2,000 on a condo for the week when Alabama has Gulf State Park Campground I will never fully understand. You could spend $2,000 and buy a small camper and spend close knit family time with your family and still have money left over. The campground itself is awesome! It's always well maintained. The swimming pool just completed a major renovation and added a small water fountain park for the little ones to play beside the pool. The bathhouses are spotless and well maintained! The beach pavilion is better and less crowded beach access that most of the other crowded condominium areas! It has a very nice bath house with showers, covered picnic area, snack stand, and beach chair and umbrella rental. My family enjoys the quality time that camping allows. You can always load up in the car and head to Gulf Shores or Orange Beach action areas. Then again, you can also chose sit back and enjoy each other, take family ride bicycles in the park, and roast hotdogs on your grill at night. We have seen gators in the park, as a matter of fact one had to be removed during our last stay because some grown adults can't OBEY the Do not feed or aggravate Alligators and Wildlife signs that are everywhere!!!!!! They aren't a problem for guests, but they are there. We like it over on Bunny Lane/Road because yes....it's full of little bunny rabbits hopping everywhere. Our girls loved that! I grew up camping and I can honestly say that this is the nicest campground that I've ever stayed at in 38 years! I mean they have wi-fi for crying out loud! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Arkansas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We didn't stay at the campground, but it was very nice and clean. We enjoyed the Nature Center- friendly staff and cool exhibits. We spent a morning biking the trails around the park and over to Orange Beach. Loved it! Rented the bikes at the park.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gulf State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf State Park

Address: 22050 Campground Rd., Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Specialty lodging in Gulf Shores
Also Known As:
Gulf State Park Hotel Gulf Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gulf State Park to your Saves list