We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location if you like the music!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix All Suites Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phoenix All Suites Hotel
Save
You added Phoenix All Suites Hotel to your Saves list
201 E. Beach Blvd., Gulf Shores, AL 36542   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Crystal Springs, Mississippi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great location if you like the music!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I read a lot of reviews before we left for this vacation, so I had a pretty good understanding of what we would find. I must say the reviews were pretty accurate.

First things first - the music from The Hangout. We were in unit #301, on the end by the Hangout and directly over the Pink Pony Pub. We could sit on our balcony and enjoy the live music from the main stage at the Hangout. We could also walk across the parking lot and hang out at the Hangout. We thoroughly enjoyed both!!

We didn't use the pool area, but the reviews accurately described it as long and narrow with limited seating area around it. The room is a suite that is very much like a small 1-bedroom condo at other Phoenix buildings that we have stayed in. The bedroom is only slightly larger than the king-sized bed, but there is plenty of room in the living area/kitchen of the suite. The kitchen was well furnished for anyone who would prefer to cook. We preferred to walk to one of the many nearby restaurants for dinner, which is so convenient.

The chairs and umbrellas are on the public beach and not associated with the hotel, as they are at the condo buildings in the area. They are single-day rental with no multi-day deals. I saw a complaint about this in another review, so it was expected.

With just the two of us, the bunk beds only held my computer case (which was never opened over the course of 4 days!!).

The service is a bit of a hybrid between condo and hotel. They freshen up towels every day, but they only clean every 3 days or so. The room was clean when we arrived and we didn't have any issues with the cleaning service.

The elevators are slow as often reported in the reviews. There are two levels of parking. The first floor rooms are two levels up from the ground floor. We parked on the upper parking level and used the stairs when we didn't have luggage.

If you are looking for a tranquil beach vacation on a somewhat quiet beach, or if you plan to hang out by the pool sunning while the kids enjoy the pool, then this may not be the place for you.

If you enjoy the nightlife, nearby restaurants, a sunny but active beach, sitting on the balcony listening to the waves and the music next door, then Phoenix All-Suites is perfect! This was our plan for this stay and we absolutely loved it.

Room Tip: The "01" rooms are on the west side, near The Hangout and overlooking the Pink Pony. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    42
    17
    10
    8
See reviews for
53
31
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helena
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Family of 6 vaca; (girls-16, 13, & 10) ;(boy-8) Unit # 902. We had plenty of room w/ king bed, 2 bunks (little cramped for teens, ok 4 small kiddos) & queen pull out sofa. BUT-I did not like having to put the sheets on the bunk beds MYSELF-this is my vaca!! Housekeeping should have that done, I expect to do it for the sofa bed. NO washer & dryer-that was hard for our family bc of wet towels & NO area to hang them dry. Bathrooms 1 & 1/2 were basic & clean. LUV big balcony w/ view! Didn't luv the noise that comes w/ the parking lot outside the master bedroom & all the electrical equipment on the roof outside the LR window. LUV location of unit-but elevators are like turtles moving through peanut butter w/ OUT any air conditioning or circulation. LUV feel of cold water pool after the beach, but if more than one family is there, 2 crowded. Parking was easy, carts available for luggage, & staff friendly. If u want affordability at basic accommodations, this is your place. If you want quiet, peace, or no noise, this is NOT for you to rent. Now, if you have kiddos, big family, girls trip, quick vaca., this IS for u! We will return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed in Unit #406 from June 13th - 20th. The place was awesome! Everything in this unit appeared to be brand new. The kitchen was large and fully stocked with all the cooking utensils and dishes you could possibly need. The appliances were sparkly white and immaculate. The decor could only be outdone by the view of the ocean and the white beach sand, just beautiful! I really don't understand the comments about noise from the Hangout. We could not here any outside noises from our room, seemingly very sound proof.
The location is great. No need to drive unless you want to do some exploring. Fantastic restaurants, pubs, and shopping are all within walking distance. The Pink Pony which is a landmark in the area is right next door. Great food and fun! Our experience was great and we will be back hopefully in unit #406 again!

Room Tip: Ask for Unit #406
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Great location for family and easy walking access to Hangout, Pink Pony and other beach attractions. Facility was clean and workers polite. All rooms have ocean view, there are nine floors so higher you stay the better the view. Right next to public section of beach that is cleaned regularly so nice for family. Will stay again and highly recommend this location. Washer and dryer on property just not on room and elevators are slow but well worth the money.

Room Tip: There are nine floors and the higher the better view. All rooms have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Okay, yes the elevators are slow but come on relax, your on vacation! Slow down and walk right out on to the beach during the day! All rooms face the ocean! We could walk back in to eat lunch and dinner (not eating out/money saver)! The kids loved the bunk beds in the hallway! I loved the kitchen! A down fall is that this Hotel is located next to public beach parking/access so it could get crowded on the beach. Oh and the pool, so small it's not worth swimming but our family enjoys beaches not pools on beach vacations, go figure... But we loved how close it was to the Hangout!!! Walking distance to good food, drinks and great music! My husband and I would sit back enjoy the live music and watch the kids play during sunset in the sand area, genius!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

The elevators are SO SLOW - it's ridiculous. Also be warned this place is right next door to The Hangout so it's LOUD into the night. The public access to the beach is right next door so the beach is pretty dirty. We walked on the beach as soon as we got here today & I won't be walking on it barefoot tomorrow - yuck! Gulf Shores & stay in Orange Beach...I wish I had.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Phoenix All Suites provides basic accommodations for quick trips to the Gulf. No minimum stay with two convenient locations (East & West Beach)
The units do not provide washer/dryer so I wouldn't recommend for families wanting to stay the week.
The Pink Pony next door has great food where you can walk right in off of the beach.
Elevators are slow and pool is small, but it works for the weekend. Covered parking is always a plus.
We rented through Brett/Robinson Vacations which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Phoenix All Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix All Suites Hotel

Address: 201 E. Beach Blvd., Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gulf Shores
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful downtown Gulf Shores, 1 block East of Hwy 59. Gulf front property in walking distance to great restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phoenix All Hotel Gulf Shores
Phoenix Hotel Gulf Shores
Phoenix Gulf Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix All Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.