We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wings, wings, & more wings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Wing Company

Island Wing Company
3947 Hwy 59, Gulf Shores, AL
2519701337
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 133 Restaurants in Gulf Shores
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Conway, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wings, wings, & more wings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

These wings were awesome! The buffalo-Kiwi wings were unlike any favor I have ever had! The coleslaw is very different, but trust me you will love it!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gulf Shores, Alabama, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Some like it hot...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was my first time at this place as a new residents of Gulf Shores and I enjoyed it. Granted I only had an order of wings, so I will have to write a more detailed review when I go back and try other things on the menu, but the point is that I would go back here again. It takes great food and even better service for me to return and that is what I got. The bartender recognized me as a new customer, came over and introduced himself and shook my hand. The wing prices are a little spendy compared to other places I have been, $7.95 for 7 wings, but its a touristy area, so there's that. A pretty good selection of taps as well mixed from macros and micros and a couple of local selections from Alabama.

The presentation is very nice and I really liked their diningware. As I said, I ordered the wings, traditional with ranch, the sauce I chose was hot, and it was definitely that. These were spicy hot, great flavor, but if you like your buffalo wings hot, this place is for you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Uniquely Decorated, Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We found this place by accident while out shopping. It's in a little strip mall of Hwy 59. I was completely blown away when we walked it....it's very uniquely designed. There are bright colors everywhere and the furniture is casual but modern. Everyone in our party enjoyed the food, but the show-stopper was the mac and cheese. It's made with a spicy buffalo sauce. Words can't describe!!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What a great new restaurant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This great restaurant is located in front of the Staybridge Suites Hotel, and boy, is it the best place to eat!! Great food and nothing is fried!! Wings aew awesome, the homemade mac and cheese can be ordered may different ways, burgers are huge and tasty, but the green beans are the hit of the house!! Go try Island Wings!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice change from seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Spent a week at the beach eating mostly seafood so was ready for a change. Saw good reviews of this restaurant and decided to try it. It has more than wings, but obviously this is their specialty. The atmosphere is that of a rots bar, plenty of televisions in the place. Service was good and the waiter was always coming by to check on us. He did try to sell us on an appetizer but after the third refusal he gave up. He made some good recommendations in the wings. Parmesan and the Thai Sweet Chili was what we ordered. Wings came out hot. Fries were an extra charge. Food was tasty. Price is a bi steep, $7.95 for 7 wings, fries were an extra charge. Overall it is worth a try.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Wing Company also viewed

 

Been to Island Wing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Wing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.