We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desoto's offers Senior Discount” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Soto's Seafood Kitchen

De Soto's Seafood Kitchen
138 West 1St Avenue, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
(251) 948-7294
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 122 Restaurants in Gulf Shores
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Moundville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Desoto's offers Senior Discount”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Usually offers an early afternoon discount to Senior diners. Try the bacon wrapped shirmp dish - it is delicious. Also, their bread is the best in Gulf Shores

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    163
    102
    38
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Liked Senior Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We went for dinner on a rainy Wednesday afternoon. We had eaten here last February and wanted to try it again. The musty smell did not turn us off as it did to some and I am more picky than most. Anyway, the senior menu had several selections and we both ordered off it. We had grilled grouper and flounder, slaw, baked potato, and steamed veggies. All of it was more than tasty just as we remembered it. Our server was attentive and friendly. He made a fresh pot of coffee for me and kept my cup full. We will return again next year while we're here. Good food, fair prices, good service. No complaints.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Saw all of the awards this restaurant was advertising so decided to give it a try. We were greeted with the musty smell as others have mentioned, must be a result of the very old carpet. We were here around 5pm and was relatively busy but not packed yet. Ladies bathroom had only one working toilet, toilet paper left outside the dispenser. Good service, but not friendly. Adequate food, nothing special. I had the coconut shrimp from the senior's menu which was not served as butterfly shrimp, just 5 big shrimp with some coconut batter on it. Have to say that the sweet potatoes were very tasty although the additions in the sweet potatoes almost overwhelmed it. Friend green tomatoes...nothing special. My husband had the fried shrimp which was just ok. Checkout was almost rude. All about speed, gal didn't even look at us. She was talking to the fella behind us while my husband was signing the credit card ticket. Rather disappointing evening and we won't be going back. We'll head over to Bahama Bob's instead.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Great senior menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Had the grouper with slaw and sweet potatoes. The rest if the group had flounder. All delicious and came with free drink and unbelievably good bread basket.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood and sides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Very good food in a convenient location. Grilled grouper, Monte Cristo sandwich, parmesan flounder and shrimp were all excellent. Au gratin potatoes are among the best we've had. Corn fritters, sweet potato casserole and cole slaw are all winners. Good service, free ice tea with Sunday lunch. Recommended.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Soto's Seafood Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to De Soto's Seafood Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Soto's Seafood Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.