We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Eat Here!1” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papa Rocco's

Papa Rocco's
101 W 6TH Ave, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
(251) 948-7262
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 133 Restaurants in Gulf Shores
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Must Eat Here!1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Looks like a small hole-in-the-wall joint. Don't let this fool you! This place has some of the best food on the gulf. You have to try the French dip sub, oysters Rockerfeller and for kids, the spaghetti is very good. We always go to Papa Rocco's when we visit the gulf and talk it about until we can get back!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    98
    49
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Horrible service and food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Just was all around horrible!! Server was horrible and food sucked. Waited 45 mins to be seated and 2 hours for food!!! Our shrimp wasnt cooked on our pizza and and hour waited for a hot dog!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canal Winchester, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“pizza”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

It was not the best pizza I have ever had but they delivered and it was reasonably priced. So for the nights you are too beat to deal with traffic this is ideal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food But Kind Of A Dive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Good food but building could use a good cleaning-unpleasant smell. Stuffed mushrooms were delicious and their homemade ranch is the best I've ever had! We had buffalo chicken pizza which was pretty good. We also had the artichoke, sun dried tomato with chicken and it was excellent! Lots of beer choices but all bottles or cans, no drafts. Loved our waitress! She made great suggestions and had a great sense of humor. Once you get past the smell, overall great experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great music, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I had eaten here once before and bragged about the 2 pound plate of crab legs and royal reds, and brought my wife and mother-in-law this time to share it with them. The wait was about 45 minutes, but they were very efficient at getting people in and out, especially for a smaller place. I was disappointed that they didn't have the royal reds I had bragged about. We were told they hadn't had them all season, and it was my mistake as I didn't know they were a seasonal item. We shared a pound and a half of crab and the spinach/artichoke appetizer, and it was nearly enough for the four of us.

The two guys playing cover songs were good and entertaining. I enjoyed eating here, and would go back, but if they didn't have royal reds, I'd probably try the pizza next time.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papa Rocco's also viewed

 

Been to Papa Rocco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papa Rocco's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.