We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better luck through time share” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Isle Resort

Paradise Isle Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Isle Resort to your Saves list
Paradise Isle Resort
620 West Beach Boulevard, Gulf Shores, AL 36542   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Gulf Shores
tuscaloosa
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Better luck through time share”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Got a better room this stay. Enjoyed the beach and nearby attractions. Wifi was sketchy. Nothing extravagant, but served it's purpose. Beach is across the street. Full kitchen, great for cooking in. Would be willing to stay again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsboro, Alabama
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The only good thing i can say about this resort is location. Free internet; didn't work. TV cable; terrible. Went in and out. Kitchen: stove was old and had damaged eyes; cabnets were old. Closet with hot water heater and brooms was run down and had exposed wires! Found beds to be uncomfortable. Office is closed Thursday and Sunday. Only given one towel exchange (Wednesday) a week.I don't recomend this place to anyone. I stayed 5/2014. Booked thru RCI.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We have used our timeshare to stay in a lot of places the past few years, this is not a five star resort but it is clean and comfortable. We spent Christmas here and it was nice to be at the beach for Christmas. We didn't use the pool or hot tub but people were using them and having a good time. The office staff was friendly and helpful, we arrived after the office was closed but had no trouble getting keys since I called the day before and took care of check in. Over all I would stay again if we can get in, seems like its always booked.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked a 1 bedroom through RCI and couldn't be happier. Room is very clean with plenty of space for our family of 5. 2 bedrooms would be good, but we fit just fine. Room has everything we need and it is super close to the beach! Right across the street is a yummy beach restaurant, you can walk to it! If possible, we will be back!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here through our timeshare, and it was just not up to par. Room was clean, everything worked ok except air conditioning was old and we were hot or freezing because of how the thermostat worked. Office closed on Thur and Sun, open 10-4 other days except Sat when it was open 10-6. If staying a week, be sure to bring paper towels, Kleenex, etc as not enough is provided. No shampoo or conditioner provided either. No curtain on our bedroom window, so the neighbors porch light made our room horribly bright at night. Foldout sofa mattress covered in plastic, other mattresses were very uncomfortable. Book states that pool closes at 10pm with no exceptions, but with no staff present of course people were out there until midnight making racket. Rooms are not at all soundproof, and anytime someone comes up the stairs or walks heavily, the entire room shakes. Appliances functioned ok, despite being quite old. Bedroom TV was tiny, main room TV fairly small as well. Being in a busy area, there were sirens going by frequently.

Positive points - The room was clean, office staff friendly, and the location was awesome. Just cross the street and you are at public beach access. Painting and building updates were in progress. Laundry room is free - 2 washers, 2 dryers, bring soap or it is a dollar per load to buy from the office. Bedroom had walk-in closet, but bring your own hangers. There are 4 charcoal grills available outside, but we did not use them. Others were, so I assume they are in good condition.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Paradise Isle is one of the older resorts in Gulf Shores and definitely has its quirks. You can feel a bit of shaking when you're lying in bed and someone goes up or down the stairs, and the units are a bit weathered under the brightly colored paint. If you're looking for a "happening" place, this is not it. Even though it's within walking distance of many things you will want to do in Gulf Shores, it feels more like you're away from it all. When you step out of your rental you aren't in some nondescript hallway, you're out in the sun and the salt air and the pool is right there. If you feel like grilling some burgers there's a grill or two within 50 feet (bring your own charcoal). If you want to keep an eye on the kids in the pool, you can set up a folding chair outside your doorway and read a book or surf the internet on your laptop. The units surround the pool, which creates a nice little world where you can easily forget the high rise condos lining the beach. There are free washers and dryers if you have to do laundry (bring your own detergent), and if your key is sticking in your lock the office staff will be right there with a can of WD-40 to get things working smoothly again. If you don't mind squeezing in and out, it's nice to have the option of parking your car in the shade under your unit. Otherwise, there are plenty of regular parking lot spaces. Public beach access, complete with a bath house, is literally across the street, with only a short wait for a walk signal to cross. My family has stayed here several times, and we absolutely love it. There really isn't another place like it in Gulf Shores.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We waited a bit to late to try to plan this years vacation so it left us with very few choices in an accceptable price range for a place to stay. We were not expecting much because of the reviews we had read but were pleasantly suprrised when we found that it was not only clean and comfortable but as my wife put it, "really cute". Its not new but we did not have any of the issues the other reviewers had. It is right across the beach from the public beach access and parking was not a issue. The unit was set up just like we needed it to be so we could cook, rest, and stage our trips. All in all, I really enjoyed this place and will try to return next year. Also, I would like to add that the people were very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to book as early as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Isle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Isle Resort

Address: 620 West Beach Boulevard, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are across the road from the public access to the beach. Great location. Our buildings are on pilings so there are a few steps to climb. We offer a towel exchange on Wed. And also provide a laundry room at no cost. We are not a highrise or a huge complex, more of a quaint "old Florida" kind of place! Great place for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Paradise Isle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Isle Hotel Gulf Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Isle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.