We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL Shrimp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of S & S Seafood Market

S & S Seafood Market
1154 West Beach Boulevard, Suite D, Gulf Shores, AL
251-968-3474
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 129 restaurants in Gulf Shores
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
MO
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL Shrimp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

After a long trip, we decided to grab something quick for the first night in our condo. Because I had researched this restaurant on Trip Advisor, we decided to give it a try... We are so glad we did.

We ordered about 1/2 hour before we picked up. We ordered one pound of Greek and one pound of blackened grilled shrimp. I believe we ordered large shrimp. Anyway, we picked them up and added some gumbo before making our way back to our condo to complete the meal with some frozen veggies and ice cream.

The shrimp was WONDERFUL. Grilled to perfection and juicy. It was about $14.99 per pound, which was fine for the value and for fresh shrimp. The gumbo was a tad spicy for my taste but was filling.

We will definitely be back for more! Loved it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    110
    23
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I've been to Gulf Shores three times this year. Each trip has included a stop by S & S. One time was just to stop in and buy some Tuna Dip for a cook out. Both others were for an entire meal. Once for two people and the other for six. Both times, food and service was excellent. Not sure why some of the negative comments are on here about their food not being fresh because it has always been fresh in our experiences. There is a man working the counter that's always extremely helpful with determining portion sizes for the amount of people being fed. He also knows his stuff as the head cook. We were informed our order would take 45 minutes so we stepped next door and had a drink at the bar. When we returned 45 minutes later things were ready to go. These folks are great. Let their excellent reviews in comparison to their bad reviews speak for themselves.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place just happened to be close to our condo this trip. Now that I know about it I will definitely come back and pick up food again even if it is not near our condo. It was great food at a reasonable price. Order it ahead, pick it up and eat it on your own balcony - what could be better?!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Double Oak, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Gumbo and Fresh Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Gulf Shores hidden gem! We bought Red Snapper, Gumbo and sausage to take back to Texas with us and it was GREAT! The staff was very helpful and friendly! They make the Gumbo from scratch and it was wonderful. Highly recommed this place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis MO
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Seafood Take Out ! ! !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Raw, seasoned, seasoned and cooked - what do you want and how do you want it? Fish, Shrimp? Broiled, blackened, fried, mild, spicy, etc; this place is nothing less than awesome! If you want to take it back to the pad - this is the place! Call in ahead of time - trust me.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S & S Seafood Market also viewed

 
Gulf Shores, AL
Gulf Shores, AL
 

Been to S & S Seafood Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage S & S Seafood Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.