We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun family vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beach Club
Save
You added The Beach Club to your Saves list
925 Beach Club Trail, Gulf Shores, AL 36542   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun family vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was our first time to Gulf Shores and the Beach Club. A friend of ours has stayed there many times and spoke highly of it. We rented our condo through VRBO which was amazing and based on several reviews, the best way to ensure you have a nice room. We stayed in a 3 BR 3 bath condo in the Bristol building. The condo was gorgeous and exceeded our expectations.

The hotel was very nice. The property itself is gorgeous with many things to do. We did not utilize the clubhouse pool/amenities because we did not want to pay additional dollars to use a pool. The clubhouse pool was always busy, packed with kids and people and music and activity, but we experienced the same things for free in the pools next to it. In my opinion, its overrated. You can only imagine what 50+ people (mostly kids) in a pool all day leave in the pool...

Which brings me to my one complaint about the Beach Club...the grounds keeping and maintenance of the pools. The pools were dirty with sand and God only knows what floating in them and I never saw anyone vacuum or skim the pools the entire time we were there. One pool was shut down our first day there due to an "accident". We found the pool by the Doral building to be the cleanest and the least crowded. Also, we felt that there was litter around the common walkways between the pools and beach that should've been routinely cleaned up. I saw beer cans, a sock, cigarette butts and pool junk scattered around which made the property look a little trashy. Mind you, the décor of the property is gorgeous...palm trees, beautiful flowers and greenery, gorgeous sand dunes. I hated to see it tarnished with garbage. It's the small things that shouldn't be skipped over that people actually do notice.

We felt completely safe here and the staff (as well as the guests) were so friendly. We saw security frequently rounding the building which put our minds at ease. There is no one at a "front desk" in the Bristol building (there is no front-desk) which seemed a little strange but no big deal. The four elevators were quick despite the numbers of people going up and down throughout the day.

This hotel is definitely for families. So many families with kids, parents and grandparents all having a great time. Our family of four, kids ages 11 and 12, thoroughly enjoyed our time there and will definitely go back next summer.

Although this hotel has gotten some complaints about the distance from town, we didn't mind the drive into town at all. It's actually a nice, scenic trip and there are plenty of fun things to do both on the property and in the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Use VRBO. Try to get a room above the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spectrum_Resorts, General Manager at The Beach Club, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Ilovehtebeach320,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of The Beach Club. It is feedback like yours that allows us to focus on exceeding our customers expectations. We take pride in maintaining a beautiful property and we appreciate you letting us know what you observed during your visit.

Thank you for choosing The Beach Club and we hope you come and visit again soon.

David Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    88
    31
    19
    17
See reviews for
198
34
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royse City, Texas, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We rented a 4 bedroom on the beach and highly recommend this property. Our Condo was perfect for grandparents, 8 grown kids, and 2 small grandchildren. The view was amazing and property is so well maintained. We loved being away from the traffic and having the option to cook or dine at one of the restaurants. Lot's to do besides the beach. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spectrum_Resorts, General Manager at The Beach Club, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Amy,

Thank you for the wonderful review and for choosing The Beach Club. Please come back and visit soon.

David Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Beach Club --my daughter in law and I brought six grandchildren down for a few days and had a wonderful time. The last time I visited the resort was 12 years ago and I was impressed with how well maintained it has stayed. It is a ways out of town (12 miles) but we decided we really enjoyed that because it is so crowded in Gulf Shores itself. There was very good security so that we felt safe at all times even at night walking around. We had one problem with the shades in the bedroom and maintenance was there within 30 minutes. We had a three bedroom condo with two king sized beds and a twin with a trundle. I had looked online at many of the condos and had checked this one out enough to know pretty much what it looked like. We were well pleased. I reserved beach chairs and an umbrella before we arrived. The young men working with this were very nice and helpful. When the children were tired of the beach there was a beautiful, big pool where they could swim. Next time I will order groceries to be delivered before we go. There were crafts every day for the children.

Room Tip: You can go online and look at each condo room by room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spectrum_Resorts, General Manager at The Beach Club, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
59)Sarah,

It sounds like your family had a wonderful stay. We appreciate you choosing The Beach Club for your grandchildren's beach vacation. We hope you come back for a visit soon.

David Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

It's listed as a 4-star resort. The actual rooms, however are a complete crapshoot.

I would have waited until trying all the amenities here and departing but this one merited a review after only 3 hours.
Room condition - not as advertised. A queen bed is actually a double, 18- and 24-inch TVs are really 15-inch tubes. Furniture, walls and floors dirty and in disrepair. One bathroom has a hole in the wall the size of a paperback. LARGE streak of dried blood on door frame. Electrical outlet missing faceplate. Smoke detector hanging from wall by electrical wires.
Tried reporting issue using hotel's website (wifi not functioning, used phone hotspot) and the website was broken. Called maintenance and asked for an electrical faceplate to be brought to me, the most pressing issue. I planned on fixing it myself. Was told that maintenance was busy and "we'll just get to you when we can." Mentioned why I needed it (very young children in condo, it was dangerous) and received no help. Saw six hotel staffers lounging near door within 30 minutes of this call that could easily have brought me what I asked for.

Can't report on any other amenities yet. Sure hope they have a better level of service with those.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spectrum_Resorts, General Manager at The Beach Club, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
gw812,

I really appreciate your correspondence via private messages. Please expect to receive a follow up email regarding your visit to The Beach Club.

David Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soddy Daisy, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This vacation was definitely one of the best vacations we've ever experienced. There are so many things to do here that you never have to leave the property if you don't want to. Restaurants, shopping, activities, and the beach is great. Definitely a place we will visit again.

Room Tip: It looked as if all the condominiums had ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spectrum_Resorts, General Manager at The Beach Club, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Sharon,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are already looking forward to your next visit. Please come again soon.

David Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Based on the reviews I was expecting a four to five star resort not even close. I give it a three star and that's a stretch.

The only reason we were there at all was because of my daughter's cheer camp. I will NOT be going back.

The room was nicely decorated but the floors were sticky and there was no mop where I could mop them myself. The cabinets had sticky drippings on inside and outside. There was mold in the caulking in the master shower tub combo. I called house cleaning they raid they would be right up never came. We stayed in condo 509D.

The pools were very nice and kept up.

I was very disappointed that this is actually Ft. Morgan there is a very very long walk to the beach. The beach was nasty with seaweed and black goo. There were left trash like chairs and tent frames that had been abandoned, not a few lots. This beach is not maintained and groomed like Destin and Panama City.

Our one bedroom condo was $1400 for four days. We stayed six days in Panama City for $1400 much nicer condo, beach and pool.

The seafood bought in the markets were the worst I have ever had tasted like it came out of a muddy river not a ocean.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spectrum_Resorts, General Manager at The Beach Club, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hewso,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for The Beach Club. We strive to maintain a beautiful and clean resort and we apologize if the unit you stayed in did not exceed your expectations. We take pride in maintaining sugar-white beaches that the Alabama Gulf Coast was blessed with and we can only encourage others to do the same.

Spectrum Resorts offers 100% satisfaction guarantee with service and accommodations. If you would like to visit The Beach Club in the future, please call me directly at 251-224-3220 and I will personally ensure that your faith is restored in The Beach Club.

David Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our 2nd trip to the Beach Club. Another fantastic trip! A0803 was an absolutely lovely ,large condo with a great view! Very clean and newly redecorated, it was very well stocked with essentials. The Beach Club has plenty of activities (tennis, spa, pools, restaurants, etc.), so you never even really need to look for outside entertainment . My husband is an avid bicyclist who found his fun doing a 20 mile ride to Ft. Morgan and the ferry. Very enjoyable for the whole family! Spectrum Resorts was very easy to work with and convenient on site. Wonderful!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spectrum_Resorts, General Manager at The Beach Club, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Marie,

We are so glad you had a wonderful stay at The Beach Club. We take pride in creating happy memories for our guest. Please come back and visit soon.

David Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf Shores
12.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
Staybridge Suites Gulf Shores
#1 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
11.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
BEST WESTERN on the Beach
#3 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.0 of 5 stars 661 reviews
12.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Gulf Shores Craft Farms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Sanibel Gulf Shores
Sanibel Gulf Shores
#5 of 24 in Gulf Shores
4.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
11.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gulf Shores
17.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Orange Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Club

Address: 925 Beach Club Trail, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
#4 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 684
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of both worlds: vacation rentals + full-service resort amenities. If combining a casual and relaxing beach getaway with luxury-level accommodations and services meets your vacation expectations, book your next visit to the Alabama Gulf Coast at The Beach Club with Spectrum Resorts - the official owner and operator of all of the Beach Club resort amenities. Escape to this popular family resort situated on 86 acres of natural beauty with private beaches spanning the length of nearly five football fields. Located 12 miles down Fort Morgan Road (Hwy 180) The Beach Club is the perfect resort for a relaxing and secluded family vacation that will allow everyone to unwind and reconnect, and The Beach Club offers so many amenities and family friendly activities you won't have to leave the resort. Everything you need for a perfect vacation - multiple dining options, five pools, fitness room, spa and salon, shopping, playground and activities - is here for your enjoyment during your stay. Spectrum Resorts (the exclusive onsite management company) offers the largest selection of vacation rentals at The Beach Club including Gulf Front condominiums and lakeside cottages. Condominiums are individually decorated and range from one to five bedrooms - all with unobstructed gulf views and located just steps from the beach. Cottages range from two to five bedrooms and provide a spacious and home-like setting for your family vacation. Stay with Spectrum Resorts and experience the "Spectrum Advantage:" • 100% satisfaction with your vacation rental • Advance Beach Chair rentals and preferred availability• Access to all resort amenities• Priority dinner reservations at Coast • Priority Spa appointments • Resort charging privileges providing a "cashless" experience. If you are looking for the perfect vacation destination for your family to reconnect and relax while away from the demands of day-to-day life, The Beach Club, delivered by Spectrum Resorts, is your answer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beach Club Hotel Gulf Shores
Beach Hotel Gulf Shores
The Beach Hotel
Beach Club Gulf Shores
Beach Gulf Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.