We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach, good food, adequate condos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beach Club
Save
You added The Beach Club to your Saves list
925 Beach Club Trail, Gulf Shores, AL 36542   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Know This Before Booking
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice beach, good food, adequate condos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2008

My family stayed here for five nights in March 2008 and was pleased with the amenities. The beach is large, clean, and easy to access. Our condo was on the ground floor and was spacious and adequate but did need to be updated a bit (however, that is up to the individual owner). Overall, for the size of this property, I think it is managed well. Surprisingly, the food in the Clubhouse was quite good as was the pizza at the Village Market. The pool areas were clean and the indoor pool was a lifesaver as it was too chilly to take a dip outside. The only downside to the Beach Club is that most restaurants and stores are 10 miles away which definitely gets a bit old over an entire vacation. However, we will go back...but will probably wait until April or May as it is too cold there in March.

  • Liked — Beach access
  • Disliked — Location to nearest town
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    74
    24
    17
    12
See reviews for
163
33
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alabama Gulf Coast
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2008

Teachers need a break during Spring Break, too! One year my husband and I spent Spring Break at Beach Club down Fort Morgan Road. Our work schedule did not allow many days away so we made reservations in advance - after all even though we live only about 30 minutes drive away - Spring Break is a very busy time on the Alabama Gulf Coast.

We were more than satisfied with our accommodations and the view was marvelous!

We brought in a few groceries for simple meals but after eating in The Restaurant that became THE PLACE to eat. There was a wedding party luncheon one day and later as we took in the salt air and beach scenes from the comfort of our balcony, the wedding party descended along with a photographer. Chairs and scenery were assembled on the beach, with torches lit as the sun sat, we watched as the young couple in the company of all their guest took their vows before God, all those assembled, and we two old lovers. We lit our own candles and enjoyed their happiness along with our own.

We had everything we needed right there on the beautiful grounds, Jacuzzis, pools both indoor and out, and hot tubs. We took advantage of the spa and I had the most luxurious facial and massage – very relaxing. The time spent at the beach club alone and apart from the world was simply very relaxing, a real getaway right in our backyard!

I recommend it for families with young children – one feels very safe in this environment. After watching the beautiful wedding on the beach – I recommend that as well – very romantic!

  • Liked — Beauty, scenery, seclusion - but, with EVERYTHING ELSE a short drive away.
  • Disliked — What's not to like?
  • Stayed March 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

Everyone was very helpful. Restaurant service is hit and miss but food is good. The beach is great. Stayed in Bristol 1404. Unit had everything we needed. We enjoyed watching the dolphins several days.

  • Liked — beach
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2007

The Beach Club's outdoor pools were not heated, so were not usable in November. They advertised a game room, but it was under construction, and also not usable. Restaurant food was overpriced and NOT good. Staff was rude. and - BEWARE - after leaving the unit our card was charged 600 dollars in cleaning fees - including a replacement of sleeper sofa mattress, which we did not use at all during our stay. Our unit was left in very good condition, the 96 cleaning fee should have more than sufficed - we feel that this was fraud - an attempt to extract more money from guests. Stay away from this place!!

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachclubGulfShores, Manager at The Beach Club, responded to this review, January 24, 2008
As a manager for The Beach Club I would like to respond to Briajonnica’s summary of her stay. I feel it is only fair to respond to such harsh accusations. To keep The Beach Club in pristine condition, areas of the property are sometimes closed for maintenance and repairs during low occupancy time frames. The game room was closed for maintenance during this guest’s stay but what the complaint fails to mention is that we set up a “special” game room located in the same building to accommodate her request. On top of that we also gave this guest a complimentary night for any inconvenience she might have had.

Located in our 25,000 square foot clubhouse is the heated indoor pool. The indoor pool is heated year round. The indoor pool was heated during the guest’s stay.

The residence was not left in “very good condition”. On the contrary, the couch was “stained” and after attempts to clean and deodorize the couch cleaners could not remove the soiled area nor the smell so we had to replace the couch. We are very careful not to charge our guests and rarely have to but this situation was extreme.

The Beach Club strives for 100% guest satisfaction and works closely with guests to resolve any issues that may arise. As evidenced by the feedback received on our guest comment cards and our 95% repeat visitor rate, the vast majority of guests who stay at The Beach Club have a positive and memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braselton, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

My husband and I feel that we have found a hidden treasure with The Beach Club. If you are looking for a very laid back and relaxing place - this is it! As soon as you pull into the parking lot you will notice the exquisite grounds maintenance. Once you see the 5 pools you will know the you have made the right choice in where to vacation. Palms trees everywhere! When we visit this resort we actually feel like we are in a tropical paradise. The beach have beautiful white sand and the famous emerald water of the emerald coast. We think the best time to go is in late September or early October - still warm enough to swim in the pools, but perfect weather to lay under the umbrella on the beach and not sweat to death. The Restaurant at the club has very good food; it is a little expensive, but the food is good and the atmosphere (if you sit outside overlooking the main pool, palm trees, and ocean) is wonderful. Book your room using VRBO.com - be sure to look at the pics of the rooms because they are all individually owned & you get a better deal by booking directly with the owner instead of the club. We recommend Doral penthouse 3D or Doral club level 1606.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2007

Check my profile - I hardly ever give 5 stars. Heres why.

We stayed for 3 nights-2 couples. This complex is about 12 miles from the main gulf shores area, so every time you want to go buy seafood, play mini golf, etc... you have that extra drive. To keep in mind. We went twice, no biggie. Arrive well prepared (though the store on site is pretty good).

Check in at 3pm was hassle free, the unit - Avalon 802 was very clean, had the best view of the 4 buildings - I would say look for the numbers that correspond to that building. you get corner unites that overlook the pool area and beach, from the side. Inside was very nice, bigger than expected and had the amenities you would expect from a furnished condo. Plus HBO and 120 channels. Obviously each condo is different, I can only take mine as the average and it was great.

The beach was beautiful and we never heard the word jellyfish. The pools and grounds were huge and well kept. The clubhouse had free DVD rental, free video games, bar, restos, indoor pool, gym, etc...

Back to the room - we had a couple of problems figuring out a couple of things and then at 6pm or so we got a call from the front desk asking if we had any questions. We asked and were promptly answered. We were very impressed.

This is not a 5 star place. There are no drink runners, the building and some doors could use a paint job, elevators could be upgraded, and other small things. But nothing major and for the price it was incredible! About $100 per night per couple at a beautiful beach complex right out of the carribean. Bring your food and the family will have a great time (and yes-very family oriented here singles could be bored unless looking for R & R only).

I am from Canada and was visiting family in New Orleans, if I ever get the chance I would return here for mini golf, go-karting and arcades at night, and an awesome resort to unwind at during the day. Enjoy!

  • Liked — Great views, beach and amenities
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2007

Stayed with girlfriends on Mother's Day weekend in Bristol 707. It invites you to "relax, rejuvenate, revive" as you walk in and that's just what we did! We watched 2 weddings from our balcony and enjoyed the band for the reception! Beach is beautiful and resort is first class! I'll be back again soon I hope!

  • Liked — Nice bedding and furniture was not like other plan rentals
  • Disliked — Is 15 minutes from town so don't forget something that stores on site don't carry
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Club

Address: 925 Beach Club Trail, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf Shores
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf Shores
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gulf Shores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 684
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the best of both worlds: vacation rentals + full-service resort amenities. If combining a casual and relaxing beach getaway with luxury-level accommodations and services meets your vacation expectations, book your next visit to the Alabama Gulf Coast at The Beach Club with Spectrum Resorts - the official owner and operator of all of the Beach Club resort amenities. Escape to this popular family resort situated on 86 acres of natural beauty with private beaches spanning the length of nearly five football fields. Located 12 miles down Fort Morgan Road (Hwy 180) The Beach Club is the perfect resort for a relaxing and secluded family vacation that will allow everyone to unwind and reconnect, and The Beach Club offers so many amenities and family friendly activities you won't have to leave the resort. Everything you need for a perfect vacation - multiple dining options, five pools, fitness room, spa and salon, shopping, playground and activities - is here for your enjoyment during your stay. Spectrum Resorts (the exclusive onsite management company) offers the largest selection of vacation rentals at The Beach Club including Gulf Front condominiums and lakeside cottages. Condominiums are individually decorated and range from one to five bedrooms - all with unobstructed gulf views and located just steps from the beach. Cottages range from two to five bedrooms and provide a spacious and home-like setting for your family vacation. Stay with Spectrum Resorts and experience the "Spectrum Advantage:" • 100% satisfaction with your vacation rental • Advance Beach Chair rentals and preferred availability• Access to all resort amenities• Priority dinner reservations at Coast • Priority Spa appointments • Resort charging privileges providing a "cashless" experience. If you are looking for the perfect vacation destination for your family to reconnect and relax while away from the demands of day-to-day life, The Beach Club, delivered by Spectrum Resorts, is your answer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Beach Club Hotel Gulf Shores
Beach Hotel Gulf Shores
The Beach Hotel
Beach Club Gulf Shores
Beach Gulf Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.