We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf State Park Fishing Pier

Gulf State Park Fishing Pier
20115 State Highway 135, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
251-948-7275
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 33 things to do in Gulf Shores
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Alamo, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We went here based on reviews and were not disappointed. We saw a pelican just sitting on the pier side almost like he was waiting on someone to take a picture with him, which we all did. We saw someone catch a small shark which they have to cut loose by law and saw a bunch of manta rays. It was definitely worth the $2 to get in. If you plan on fishing definitely bring your own poles and such. Very expensive to rent.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    107
    36
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Cool place to watch all the fishing going on and the beach! There is a small fee but it is worth it. Good place for kids.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinsville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Wonderful views, well mantained"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Covered shelter area as you enter the pier, relaxing atmosphere.. folks were doing some serious fishing there too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorsby, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
115 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beach Trip 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Girl Scout decided to camp at the Gulf State Park. This park is great to relax and the fishing. My girls enjoyed walking around seeing the different fish and crabs the fisherman were bring in on the boats. My children enjoyed the afternoon at the pier.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun for children and adults!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We took our children (13, 9, 7, & 4) to the pier in the late afternoon. We were able to get permit and bait on site. Because they have never fished much, I thought that my children wouldn't have much luck...I was wrong. Nearly every time they dropped a hook on the water, they caught something. Many of the fish were small, but nonetheless it was exciting. Other fishermen on the pier were happy to talk and answer questions that we had.
In the three hours we were thee, we saw three sharks and one ramora eel caught and released.
It was a lot of excitement for our entire family, and the kids are already talking about going back again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulf State Park Fishing Pier also viewed

 

Been to Gulf State Park Fishing Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf State Park Fishing Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.