We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf State Park Fishing Pier

Gulf State Park Fishing Pier
20115 State Highway 135, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
251-948-7275
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 17 attractions in Gulf Shores
Type: Wharfs/ Piers/ Boardwalks
Attraction Details
Alamo, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We went here based on reviews and were not disappointed. We saw a pelican just sitting on the pier side almost like he was waiting on someone to take a picture with him, which we all did. We saw someone catch a small shark which they have to cut loose by law and saw a bunch of manta rays. It was definitely worth the $2 to get in. If you plan on fishing definitely bring your own poles and such. Very expensive to rent.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    65
    20
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Cool place to watch all the fishing going on and the beach! There is a small fee but it is worth it. Good place for kids.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinsville, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Wonderful views, well mantained"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Covered shelter area as you enter the pier, relaxing atmosphere.. folks were doing some serious fishing there too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorsby, Alabama, United States
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beach Trip 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Girl Scout decided to camp at the Gulf State Park. This park is great to relax and the fishing. My girls enjoyed walking around seeing the different fish and crabs the fisherman were bring in on the boats. My children enjoyed the afternoon at the pier.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun for children and adults!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We took our children (13, 9, 7, & 4) to the pier in the late afternoon. We were able to get permit and bait on site. Because they have never fished much, I thought that my children wouldn't have much luck...I was wrong. Nearly every time they dropped a hook on the water, they caught something. Many of the fish were small, but nonetheless it was exciting. Other fishermen on the pier were happy to talk and answer questions that we had.
In the three hours we were thee, we saw three sharks and one ramora eel caught and released.
It was a lot of excitement for our entire family, and the kids are already talking about going back again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulf State Park Fishing Pier also viewed

 

Been to Gulf State Park Fishing Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf State Park Fishing Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gulf State Park Fishing Pier to your Saves list