We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wonderful views, well mantained"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf State Park Fishing Pier

Gulf State Park Fishing Pier
20115 State Highway 135, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
251-948-7275
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Wharfs/ Piers/ Boardwalks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Hopkinsville, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Wonderful views, well mantained"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Covered shelter area as you enter the pier, relaxing atmosphere.. folks were doing some serious fishing there too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    75
    25
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thorsby, Alabama, United States
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beach Trip 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Girl Scout decided to camp at the Gulf State Park. This park is great to relax and the fishing. My girls enjoyed walking around seeing the different fish and crabs the fisherman were bring in on the boats. My children enjoyed the afternoon at the pier.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun for children and adults!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We took our children (13, 9, 7, & 4) to the pier in the late afternoon. We were able to get permit and bait on site. Because they have never fished much, I thought that my children wouldn't have much luck...I was wrong. Nearly every time they dropped a hook on the water, they caught something. Many of the fish were small, but nonetheless it was exciting. Other fishermen on the pier were happy to talk and answer questions that we had.
In the three hours we were thee, we saw three sharks and one ramora eel caught and released.
It was a lot of excitement for our entire family, and the kids are already talking about going back again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“new but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

new pier, wide with bathrooms half way also. Having to buy saltwater license and $8 day is a bit high. Lots of catches, just not by me. Friendly strangers.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“sight see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

$2 to go to the end of the pier
there is a small bar to eat at here (we didn't)
people fishing, can sightsee, see all the people at the beach.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulf State Park Fishing Pier also viewed

 

Been to Gulf State Park Fishing Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf State Park Fishing Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.