We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pools and Golf Cart Service in resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiva Dunes Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gulf Shores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kiva Dunes Resort
Save Saved
You added Kiva Dunes Resort to your Saves list
815 Plantation Drive, Gulf Shores, AL 36542   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 23 hotels in Gulf Shores
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pools and Golf Cart Service in resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed in a beach house in this resort. They have a shuttle service within the resort - a golf cart. they are so fast and nice. There are 3 pools we got to use and a man cleans them daily.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duson, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The first year I went to Gulf Shores (out of 12 times I've been), this is the place where my family and I rented a condo above the clubhouse. Being a golfer, I loved being within walking distance of a putting and chipping green and driving range. The vistas we had from our balcony were gorgeous at sunset. Only problem was that we couldn't fit my whole family on the balcony, hence the reason we now rent a beach house. The other issue was that the women in our family don't play golf, and its a good quarter of a mile walk to the beach. Not fun when you're covered in sand. There is a shuttle that runs, but at that time it ran somewhat sporadically. If you just like the view of the Gulf and LOVE Golf, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Visit the website and view pictures of the condo's. Try to get a Gulf view. It's worth the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We rented a house in the Kiva Dunes Resort area over spring break. the "houses" are in a separate gated area behind the golf club house. We rented Piper House; which is a two bedroom, two bath, two story place. One bedroom is downstairs, and has it's own bathroom; and laundry room. Upstairs is the living room, kitchen and the other bedroom/bath. There is also a patio upstairs overlooking the neighborhood. This house is across the boardwalk from the ocean, so there is no ocean view (nor can you hear it); but it's quiet and the boardwalk over the dunes to the beach is a fairly short walk. There is a pool in close proximity as well; but it wasn't heated and was quite cold.

The kitchen is well equipped; but the appliances are somewhat old (but they all worked). the living furniture is extremely comfortable; and there are TV's in every bedroom as well with excellent cable access. There is Wifi; but it is shared with the house next door; it worked, but was a bit slow. The beds are queen size (we prefer King); but they were comfortable.

My husband said the golf course; he paid $98 each round. The restaurant at the club house was good and served burgers and the like; pricing was reasonable.

The beach is stunningly gorgeous.. huge and not crowded. That was the best part of the stay.

It takes about 20 minutes to drive into town to the city of Gulf Shores. Here you can find a lot of things to do like miniature golf, go carting, tons of restaurants, shops and more beach. We went to Lamberts café (was told it is a must have experience)- they throw the rolls at you... was a good time but WAY too much food for us.

We paid $1300 for the week to rent the house; quite reasonable. There are other houses that are right ON the beach; but they are huge; would be a good spot to take a multi-family trip.

Overall, we enjoyed our trip.

Room Tip: if you want ocean front; you'll need to go for the larger homes; otherwise, the houses are all c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahomet, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Kerri helped us with our first ever condo rental. This resort was amazing. As you can see from the photos, it is clean, big and scenic. Our condo overlooked the 18th green. The restaurant was AMAZING. We had the breakfast buffet (which was less than $10.00 per person) and also tried the Mai Mai for dinner the night before. GOTTA TRY THE CORN FRITTERS as an appetizer. The waitress (Angie?) from Ohio was friendly and helpful.
The condo was completely furnished (didn't have a hair dryer in the condo) but everything else was there (down to the wine opener). We will definately be back.
Thanks Kerri and Kiva Dunes for a great visit.

Room Tip: Contact Kerri and tell her she was recommended on Trip Advisor. She will take care of you. She eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I just returned from a great visit at Kiva Dunes! The resort is located 15 miles away from central Gulf Shores which is close enough to access but far enough away to appreciate the uncrowded beaches! The grounds and course are well manicured even in the off season of January. I have visited this property in the summer and the beach and pools are very inviting. we stayed in kiva village over looking the course. The two bedroom that we rented was spacious with a large balcony! All of the appliances are new and modern decor. I look forward to my next visit!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in Kiva Village and loved it! The view of the golf course was amazing! Didn't play the course but it looked well kept! My family really enjoyed watching the alligator off of the balcony each and everyday! The beach at Kiva Dunes was beautiful! It was just about a 10 minute walk from the village or we would drive to the pool and walk across the dunes to the beach. The beach itself was quiet and very peaceful! We really enjoyed looking for shells and making sand castles each day of our stay! Definitely would stay at Kiva Village again in the future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vonore, Tennessee
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This Resort is in a beautiful location on Fort Morgan Road outside Gulf Shores. It is about a 15 mile drive from central Gulf Shores but well worth the ride. Very nice facilities that include Condo and house rentals. This Resort has a must play golf course - both challenging and beautiful. You will enjoy your experience at Kiva Dunes.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiva Dunes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiva Dunes Resort

Address: 815 Plantation Drive, Gulf Shores, AL 36542
Location: United States > Alabama > Gulf Shores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 hotels in Gulf Shores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiva Dunes Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.